120th Rose Parade

Upon deciding that since this is our last year hear in So Cal, what better way to bring in a new year than to head to Pasadena, CA for the 120th Rose Parade? (Thanks Grandpa and Grandma for taking us!!)  We started planning early…like last January. The day the box office opened to sell the Grandstand seating tickets, which was Feb 15, we were on the phone making reservations. Results- reserved parking and seating to the most beautiful parade in the world!!

We started our day out early, 4:30 to be exact. Waking up 6 sleeping little children and reminding them that we were on our way to “The most beautiful and amazing parade ever” was a little of a challenge. Since we have never even watched this parade on TV before and the only exposure to a parade they have ever had was our little 20,000 population city’s annual parade, they were not really sure what to expect. They had figured out though, that as they announced to people that they would be going to be right there in the Grandstands, there was quite a lot of exictement from the one whom they were talking to.

Traffic was our biggest concern. It was estimated that there would be well over 1,000,000 people there and that can cause alot of traffic problems. And after living here for 3 years, we have learned to adjust our whole lives somedays around traffic. But much to our surprise we never even slowed down until….. we turned on to Colorado Blvd. And there was about 1,000,000 people camped out along the sides of the road. It looked as if there had been some disaster and the Red Cross should be around somewhere handing out food and blankets. People had been camping there for days!! There were tents and sleeping bags and fire pits and cookstoves. The list went on and on. The streets were covered with trash. And the Mexico flag was flying everywhere I seemed to look.

We found our parking lot, beautifully positioned about 100 feet from the bleachers we sat in.  It was block parking, so you were “blocked” in once you parked by the car that followed you in.  We were about an hour early and then we had another 30 minutes from the time the parade started until it reached us.  We roamed the streets taking in all the sights and sounds for awhile and then settled in to see the parade.

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 001

 

Grandma Beth and the children behind the Grandstand.

 

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 003

The Multitudes.

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 004

Buying Hot Cider from a shopping cart vendor.

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 006

Keeping warm by the firepit.

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 007 Beth & Luke Dec 2008 008

I hope that when I am this old, my great-grand sons will take me for a ride like this!! Right down Colorado Blvd!

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 009

The biggest sleepover I have ever seen.

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 010

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 013

 Beth & Luke Dec 2008 014 Beth & Luke Dec 2008 015

This Bell Tower stood tall over us all.                             Eric and Maryann

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 017

Selling Mexican flags. Sadly, there was not an American flag to be seen waving.

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 019

Grandpa Luke and the boys trying out their new horns!

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 024

The Tow Trucks just waiting for you to park somewhere you should not.

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 025

Beth & Luke Dec 2008 028

These bleachers held some 20,000 people

 

And since Xanga is doing Maintaince on their system, the rest of this story will come another day!!

 

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 120th Rose Parade

  1. How fun!  We watched some of it on TV, that parade is always so beautiful.  Looking forward to seeing the rest of your pictures.

  2. nicolscc says:

    As a girl I loved watching the Rose Parade and wanted to see it some day irl. I have broached the topic with Jeff since we’ve been here – that and going to the Price is Right . I don’t know about the crazy crowds and traffic, though – definitely two of my most unfavorite things. I have to keep myself from counting the days until it is *our* last year in So. Cal. Must learn to appreciate the now.

Leave a Reply

