Update on the Pecan Tree

pecan tree1

 

 

If you haven’t read my post on “Gifts and Giving” posted on Dec 13, 2008 you should do that before reading this one. If you have, this is an update to that post…..

So I was making dinner yesterday and Ben came running in asking if the man picking pecans could borrow a ladder. I replied “no”, as I didn’t think this was a good idea to start providing a ladder to those wanting pecans. A few minutes later, Laura came running in saying that the man was climbing the tree. Sure enough, he had managed to climb up into this tree and was jumping on the branches to shake off the pecans still attached. I thought,”I have to have a picture of this”, but next thought was “how am I going to do that without him seeing me take his picture” to which the next thought was “If he wants to climb this tree and jump on branches in my front yard, even if it is God’s Pecan tree, then I can take his picture!” So I grabbed my camera, went out into the front yard and in my broken spanish told him I was going to take his picture. I think at this point he felt a little silly, but I just snapped away. The children all hung over the fence watching it all. Later after he got down he offered to do my yard work for a good price. I told him how we didn’t do it, the University does everybody’s lawn on this whole street. Then he asked about the back yard, which I said Eric just does it himself. That we don’t have any money to pay someone else to do it. He then said, “because you are so nice and let me have all these pecans, I’ll do it for no price”. I was kinda in shock. It often seems like this pecan tree attracts people who think they should collect every pecan and never ask or say thanks, which is ok. It’s God tree, not mine. But to have him show such gratitude by offering to do yard work in exchange almost made me speechless. I thanked him again but said that there really was not anything to do (since we turned the water off to save on the water bill since they keep raising the rates, the grass does not grow, and hence no need to do much back there anymore).  Later after he left I thought I should have asked him to help me work on my spanish.

jan 09 138

 

jan 09 137 jan 09 136 jan 09 139

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Update on the Pecan Tree

  1. bakersdozen2 says:

    I’m so glad you took pictures! I love your pecan tree story. It really warms my heart that you honor our Lord that way!!!!! =)

  2. LarissaN says:

    Oh my goodness, Cheryl!  That’s hilarious!  I”m so thankful that he didn’t fall out of the tree!  🙂

  3. I wish we had a pecan tree!  What a funny story, it’s like the pineapple story where all the natives steal his pineapples.  What a great way to show God to your children!!!!  They look so cute lined up along the fence.

  4. Hutch5 says:

    great story. give and it shall be given to you right!!!! the kids lined up looking on is sweet~ i think i’d stare at a man climbing the tree in my front yard too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

