Joshua Tree

 This last weekend was one of those very busy, life never really stops kind of weekends. Eric’s parents stopped in on their way over to AZ to be hear for Eric’s White Coat Ceremony.  They stayed for the weekend and on Saturday we packed up the van (it’s nice to have extra seats again so we don’t have to take along a second car) and headed over to Joshua Tree. We have been wanting to get out there for awhile, but it just hadn’t happened yet. The summers are crazy hot there, so this tends to be a good time of the year to go.  

joshua tree 048

 

Joshua Tree is a National Forest. It was given this name by the Mormons who were traveling west in their wagons. When they saw the “tree” that is scattered all over the Mojave desert, it looked to them like their prophet Joshua lifting his hands to heaven. Hence, the name Joshua Tree. (This is what the park ranger at the entrance booth told us.)

joshua tree 102

There is not much scenery change in Joshua Tree. Lots and lots of Joshua trees that really look more like cacti (maybe they are??) even more rocks, and thorns. It seemed that just about every plant had some type of thorn on it. I am sure this is some sort of protection that the plant has, but makes for little ones falling a very big hazard!  

joshua tree 016

 

Our first stop was to climb up some very steep rocks. Everyone except me and Gabe. Having a baby strapped to your chest kinda throws your balance off. Not a good combination with a steep rock climb! So I hung around the bottom and snapped some pics. This is when I observed all the thorns on the plants. Ken spotted a coyote roaming around.  The coyote was not scared at all of people. It was amazing how well he blended in with his surroundings. Unless he was moving, you could not even see him.  After we had exhausted this rock for climbing, we loaded back up and drove for about half an hour until we found another spot to climb. These rock were much rounder and smoother. Eric, his Dad, and the four older ones took off to climb a huge rock and Karen and I explored the campground with the little ones. Maryann was so full of energy. As we were walking, she would just bounce up and down. It was fun to watch her. On our trip back to the car, we spotted everyone standing on top of the rock they had just climbed.  The sun was setting, so we grab a few snacks and loaded up for our drive back home. It took quite a while to get out of the park and back on the freeway. I think the dark probly made it feel even longer because there was nothing really to see. It was a really fun day and we all came home very exhauted!!!

 

The First Set of Rocks Climbed

joshua tree 006

Eric’s parents

joshua tree 258

 

Papa and the Boys

joshua tree 247

 

Nana and the Girls

joshua tree 244

joshua tree 241

The line up…or down…

joshua tree 175

joshua tree 168

joshua tree 162

 

 joshua tree 159

 

loved the lighting in this pic.

joshua tree 129

 

joshua tree 097

 

Maryann climbing a rock 

joshua tree 074

 

joshua tree 070

 

joshua tree 061

I loved the curly strings in this plant

joshua tree 037

joshua tree 001

 

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Joshua Tree

  1. Great pictures.  Oh how my boys would LOVE to climb on those big rocks! 

  2. srheam says:

    That looks like fun.  It’s great to have activities like that for boys especially.  They love to conquer rocks:).  Thanks for sharing of your day.  I liked the pictures. 

  3. ktalbott says:

    I think it’s cute that your in-laws are “Nana” and “Papa.” I wouldn’t have thought of Mr and Mrs Cornelius as taking on those names, but they are so cute. They are what my parents are called as grandparents too.Thanks for the update. Hey, we are going to be in Oregon the month of March if you around then please let us know!~ Katie

  4. mysweetpeas says:

    @ktalbott – We will be up there the end of March.  It would be so much fun to get togeather!! When will you be there?

  5. ktalbott says:

    We leave back for NC on March 31st (are heading out this Saturday). We are staying with my folks – Eric should still know their number Give us a call!Anything you need from NC? … Boiled Peanuts? (YUK!). I haven’t found anything that NC offers that’s specific to the state that is wonderful, besides the weather that is.

  6. Hutch5 says:

    Looks like a cool place! You got some great shots~

  7. Thank you so much for your comment on the momaroo site. People are so blind. Thank you for (hopefully) opening a few eyes.
    Your family is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

