The End

 It’s been a busy last month. And I have this frantic feeling that it’s only the beginning. When we moved here 3 1/2 years ago, our time here seemed like an eternity. After all, it was going to be the longest we had ever  put our roots down. We actually threw away the boxes we were unpacking rather than storing them in the garage for the next move. It felt good. I had a lot of fun turning this house into a home. We planted grass and bought a swingset. Planted grape vines and a peach tree. Which by the way has produced the most mouth watering peaches one could ever dream of. I’m really going to miss that tree. Or at least the peaches it produces. We have made friends that we will have for the rest of our lives. Our family has grown. We have welcomed two little children into this world in this little house. And the memories that have been created…

And in only 10 weeks and 5 days, it will all come to an end. It is so bittersweet for me. We have almost finished what we started 10 years ago. It’s been a long hard road with a few side streets along the way. This is an overwhelming feeling. Some days I can hardly believe that we are almost there. I am exicted thinking about the next chapter we will be starting so soon.  A job, a house, no more school… I really don’t even know what these things will be like. And I can hardly wait.

 

jan 09 048

But other days, my heart grieves this life we will be leaving behind. these past 3 1/2 years have been the best of our lives together. We have had so little, (materialistic) but yet we have had so much.  Our hearts have been filled beyond what we could have ever imagined. I remember when we first came down here. Eric had just graduated from the U of O with his Masters. We knew that we would be moving down here in the fall, and so we made a trip to look around. Hopeful that we could buy a house. To be really honest, a little overwhelmed of the whole “So Cal” lifestyle that we would be thrown into. So we spent a few days looking for housing. Nothing. Nothing to buy since it was the height of the housing boom. Nothing to rent because nobody really wanted to rent to a family with 4 children. We left feeling frustrated and discouraged.

Then one day, on the maybe twentieth time of calling the university housing office to see if there was anything availble…there was that morning. But we needed to decide within a few days. So with only a few pictures of the place, we agreed it would definitely work for our family. I loved that it was peach. Eric still calls it “pink”. I loved that we had three palm trees in my front yard. (which they chain-sawed down in the wee hours of a Sunday morning about a year ago, much to my protest and sobbing). I loved that my kitchen windows looked out over “The Field” and the mountains. We would be close enough for Eric to walk to school, so we could get by with only one car.  The house was small, on a busy road, and had a dirt pit for a backyard, but it was perfect for us.

 

IMG_1040_2518

IMG_0843_2330

So we moved in, threw away the boxes and learned the ways of So Cal. We have had good times and bad. We have laughed and cried. We have watched our little children grow and then grow some more. Gabe will be the same age when we leave as Joshua was when we started. And Maryann is in between them. We have watched as God has provided for our family in ways we never could have imagined. During the times that we were sure there was just no way to make ends meet, God would pour out His blessings on us.  We will always remember these years as the best.

 

jan 09 108 IMG_0868_2355

jan 09 091

So, as I pack up boxes that the boys have retrieved from the school’s cardboard dumpsters, I am sad. It seems like just last month that I was unpacking this house. But we are done. So half of me wants to run on, see whats coming next since we still haven’t figured that one out yet. But the other half wants to stay here. Wants to live in this little peach house forever. Wants to keep being a students wife..(well, maybe a job would be nice). I want to keep all my girlfriends and the park days and the weather. Man, I love this weather and am really going to miss it. I want to desperately need God to provide for my family. Because when He does, He is so close and so real to me and our children. I want to be a part of this little town that we have grown to love. I want to keep going to our church and hearing Pastors awesome preaching. But, the countdown has begun. And there is no stopping it. So I take a breath, and grab on, because life is about to change in a big way and I don’t want to miss a thing!

~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The End

  1. inhislight07 says:

    Sounds adventurous……..I always admire people who get to move……..We will probably be on this farm for our entire lives…..I am content to do that I just always think, “How fun” when someone moves.  I pray it will be  a blessing for you!!!

  2. bakersdozen2 says:

    Awww, that is bittersweet….. But you’re taking the best part of your life with you and there are tons more people God has waiting for you to love and to be loved by and to minister too. ~A grand adventure!!!Do you know where you’ll be going?

  3. Hutch5 says:

    So neat to read some of your history here and see how God has been faithful! I understand about change being both exciting and a bit daunting~ may His peace envelope your heart as you walk into this new chapter of life. Keep us posted on the “next step.” πŸ™‚ That last shot of you and your kiddos is just adorable~thinking of you~ A.

  4. srheam says:

    Exciting and scary all mixed into one.  God has a big plan for you and your family…so you know that you are in for an adventure!!

  5. What a neat story.  I can see how this can be bittersweet.  Change is always exciting, but it is sad to leave old things behind.  Where are you guys off to next?

  6. Larissa says:

    Okay, I totally was not prepared to be reading this today!  And I am so not okay with talking about your leaving yet!  😦  So as excited as I for you guys, I am so selfishly sad that there will be no more afternoons spent lounging around your house while the boys played in the back, and no more trips to LA with you.  And I am so regretting that we didn’t become better friends sooner. . . starting to tear up so I am going to stop now, but I am so glad that I will see you guys Sunday!!!!!  Love you!

  7. mysweetpeas says:

    @bakersdozen2 – We are still trying to figure out where we want to move. We have never had the “option” to just go anywhere. So as fun as it is to chose, it’s a bit overwhelming. We are going to take a road trip after his next set of boards to look around at some of the areas that we are considering. So hopefully that will be fruitful.  Eric has some contacts along the way so that will help out alot too. So we’ll see!!

  8. Izzysgal says:

    Exciting!  And aren’t we so thankful we don’t have to make these decisions on our own intelligence? Jesus knows us and has a spot made just for us to fill. Bless you as you seek His will. By the way is you loved the weather in CA. you probably don’t want to settle in MI.:) Hope packing goes well, and enjoy your road trip.

  9. msikkema says:

    Joe and I have had the same kind of experience here. God has been so faithful and given us so many blessings. I started out living here wanting to be a mother so badly and not sure if that dream would ever come true. I remember seeing you at the pool with your then five kids and one on the way thinking what an amazing mother you seemed to be. Your kids were playing so nicely and you made pregnancy look so beautiful. I could hardly imagine myself being a mother. Now as we leave with one child and another one on the way, I feel so blessed and can hardly believe how are family has changed. I wish I had gotten to know you more before our time here has come to an end. But I am thankful I met you. You have been a great inspiration and great example of a Godly mother and family. I know we will stay friends and keep in contact as we go our separate ways and Lord willing we will live not that far from each other. It’s exciting to see how God has blessed your family and will continue to guild you. I can’t wait to see where the Lord has in store for your family.

  10. laura says:

    I can’t imagine moving, amazing how you embrace change! Kissui can’t live without your pacifier clips, I guess I will have to start paying to have them shipped! πŸ™‚

  11. nicolscc says:

    Wondering how the trip went (or are you not back yet?). Hope you all are doing well!! I know that, despite the things I dislike about living here and the desire for getting into the post-school years, it will be exactly as you described it when we leave – bittersweet. God has blessed/is blessing us all here. And your family has been a blessing in our lives. We’ll miss you! We’d like to have you all over some time in the next few weeks. Let me know when might be good for you!

Leave a Reply

