the countdown..only 6 more days until we move…

It’s been a crazy busy last month around here. We have been running fast and hard. Here are a few of the highlights from our life…

~It has been quite warm lately, so off to the pool and river we have gone. We have 6 little fish who all love the sun and water. Eric and I found this small, little, muddy section of a river on one of our Saturday morning dates. I was looking for sand/rock to plant the orchid that Laura brought back for me from Hawaii. I made a little note that I should bring the children back on a hot day. And so I did. And they loved it. The water was somewhat of a nasty color of brown, which was somewhat distributing. So I only let the boys actually swim and made them promise to keep their mouths closed and not drink it. They found an tonka truck that had been left behind and lots of other “treasures” that had washed ashore. We tried building a dam to stop the water up and make the swimming hole larger. We had a nice little lesson on the power of water as we built of our little dam.
Photobucket
Photobucket


Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket

~Sea World has Education Days once a month, so we waited this year for our annual field trip to Sea World until May so that Eric could go with us. My favorite animal was the Bulga Whale. It was so white and beautiful. Right as we were entering the park, the National Anthem started playing. It was so fun to stop right there and see all my little children place their little hands over their hearts and sing along with their eyes raised to the giant flag waving in the air. As for the children’s favorite plcae at Sea World…the tide pool where they get to play with the starfish. It was a fun filled day of learning about all the life that lives under the sea!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
I saw this sign on our way out of Sea World… not exactly sure what it means. Can one trade their children at the end of the day if they are no longer happy with them. And disabled??? I laugh every time I look at this picture!
Photobucket

/>
Once a year, the children’s’ hospital has a “Children’s Day”. This is a special day where all the different departments set up tables and have lots of free things to give the children. Each child brings their favorite stuffed animal and takes them to the “Teddy Bear Clinic” This is a place where they have their animal weighed, temp took, and a shot. The whole idea behind this day is to educate children and to help ease the fears that a child might have if they had to got to the hospital. This is our third and last year and we had a great time!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I flew out to NC for 5 days with Laura and Gabe. We spent the weekend with Grandpa Luke and Grandma Beth. Grandma just graduated from ECU with her P.H.D. It was a very fun weekend of celebrating her accomplishments. Eric was able to stay home with the other children and so the worked on packing. One night when I was talking to Ben, I asked him if he missed me. He said “no, not really” I was a little surprised and asked why…to his reply “We’er having too much fun!!” I was glad to hear it. We were also able to be there for their son, Bryce and his wife as they dedicated their first daughter, Brittany, to God.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And one of my favorite days was seeing an OLD friend, Doug. He was down here in LA for business and hopped on the metrolink to my neck of the woods. We picked him up and spent the afternoon catching up. As we were driving him to our house, I informed him that for dinner I hadn’t gone shopping for food. This is because I am being VERY creative in my cooking these days as I need to use up everything that I have so it does not get thrown away when we move. But lucky for him, I had been saving this beautiful HUGE cut of beef for him! So we had a delicious dinner and then headed back to the train station.
Photobucket

We bought a trailer a few months back to make this move. Eric sat down and crunched the number and decided it would be a better use of our money if we bought a trailer then if we rented two UHauls. So we brought a load up over spring break and are bringing the second and last load up on our finally move date… May 25.
Photobucket

Which brings me to ….packing. This has been where a lot of my energy has gone these days… and nights. I decided about a year ago, that when we did this move, I wanted to go through EVERYTHING and simplify what I have. Give or throw away what I don’t need and or use. This has been a huge chore, but I have enjoyed doing it. It’s been fun to be able to give so much away to others who can use it more than I can.
This is Ben, making a fort out of the empty boxes in the living room.
Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the countdown..only 6 more days until we move…

  1. Doug Enfield says:

    Yay!  I made the blog!  It was wonderful to see you guys and the kids.  Can’t wait to do it all again and show off my family!
    Have a good trip back up the PNW!  Congrats again Eric!

  2. Hutch5 says:

    so good to catch up on your life~ looks like fun busy times!you’re the most adorable mommy!! love all your outfits. 🙂 and that shot of you w/ all your kiddos around ~ hope the moving goes well. we’re in the midst of moving decisions here.. nothing final though.have a great weekend! `a.

  3. ktalbott says:

    So, where are you all moving to? It sounds like your family is ready for another great adventure. Thanks for sharing with us all!~ Katie

Leave a Reply

