The Cows are out….

“Cheryl, WAKE UP!!!! The Cows are out!!!”

“huh, what??”

“The cows, they are in the orchard. Get up, we need to get them out!!! Quick, put on your shoes and meet me out there”

“Cows?? Oh, the cows. Right now??”

“Get up Cheryl, right now!!!”

This is what I woke up to this morning. The cows had somehow unlatched two fences and were grazing in Grandpa’s orchard. A big no-no. Grandpa gets pretty mad at those cows when this happens. And the child who assisted with not correctly latching the gate. But this time, there was no child involved. Eric had been the last one out of that field and knew that the gate had correctly been latched.

So how does one go about getting cows from one field to the other? Well, now that I am an expert at the subject let me fill you in. First husband closes gates to funnel them in one direction. Then, wife is given a very long board and told to stand guard of the gate and not let them thru when they come charging at her. Wife does this while rubbing sleep out of her eyes. Still in her pj’s. Husband also gets long board and begins rounding up cows in the orchard, herding them toward the gate. All the while making funny sounds wife has never heard him make before. All of a sudden, wife sees 8 cows charging at her (or the gate that she is guarding). Big board in hand ready to do whatever it is you do with a big board and 8 cows charging, wife stands guard. One cow decided he really doesn’t want to leave orchard and turns around to dart past husband back to apple trees. But husband, ever so fast, uses long board to shoo him back with other cows. Who are now walking through fence back to their pasture. Husband locks gate. Time to get dressed and start my day.

~Cheryl

Grandpa planting corn
Photobucket

The garden and farmhouse
Photobucket

Photobucket

Squirrel watching me take pictures of him
Photobucket

Eric and his graduation gift from his Dad- Black Powder Rifle
Photobucket

Laura and a snake she found
Photobucket

Another one of her snakes.
Photobucket

Michael helping out Daddy
Photobucket

How we do work around here…moving the swing set
Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cows are out….

  1. ktalbott says:

    I think this is the first I’ve ever seen Eric with facial hair – looks pretty nice! And how do you get your girl to pick up a snake? I have a hard enough time getting my son to do that.

  2. srheam says:

    Oh, the adventures of a farm:).  Sorry, I was sort of laughing to myself about the cow story.  I can just see you with a board and 8 cows heading your way. Not like the board is going to offer too much protection, eh??

Leave a Reply

