This old house…

So my new house is old. Very, very old. It was built in 1933. It was is the original house that went with the Dairy Farm. That’s what the big white and green barn was used for. And the 23 acres that surround this house. But one day the dairy farm shut down. Not sure why yet, but I intend to find out. Probly because of those dairy farms down in CA that we drive by. Thousands of cattle on just a few acres, on lots and lots of steroids. I’m guessing this place just couldn’t keep up. So it was sold to a man who loved to work with his hands and with wood. So he picked up a hammer and started working on this house. He worked for years, keeping as much from the original house as he could. Moving a window from here to there. Changing doors as he added square feet. And the house grew. And grew some more. He built a huge kitchen with windows all three sides that look out over the yards and fields. He added a huge master bedroom and bathroom and closet on the back side of the house. He blended bricks so you can hardly tell it was added on. He matched the woods. He preserved as much as was possible in this process.

This man wasn’t friends with his neighbor. They fought a lot. So one day he just had enough. He put this big old house that he had labored on for years for sale. And it sold. The next family lived here 15 years. They loved this house. They had children who filled the walls with music and laughter. Then one day they had to move on too. So another “For Sale” sign was staked in the beautiful front yard.

This time it was bought by some brothers. They had big plans for this house and the land. They put this house back on the market, now with only 2 acres. They began to divide the property. Eleven lots total. they put in roads and landscaping. They put a gate in, so it was now a “gated community”. They hired an engineer to draw up plans to save the barn and turn it into a Community Center. They put in RV parking for the homes in The Community. Then, the housing market slowed down. Then it came to a halt here. So they stopped with the developing. And this house just sat. So, after a few years, they decided to rent it. And we found it and fell in love with it. And moved in…

my kitchen is on the left covered in the Jasmin
Photobucket

The original front screen door
Photobucket

The south side
Photobucket

My favorite place to sit these days
Photobucket

The front entrance
Photobucket

A few of the outside light fixtures…
Photobucket
Photobucket

One of the original glass door handles and locks
Photobucket

The back porch
Photobucket

The childrens “dream” climbing tree
Photobucket

The garden house and Laura’s easel. She was painting this scene.
Photobucket

Photobucket

A few of the thousands of roses that surround this place
Photobucket

The children having their first “soak” in the hot tub!
Photobucket

Pictures of the inside to come soon…
~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This old house…

  1. krististeele says:

    It’s gorgeous Cheryl!  I absolutely love all the character and charm of your new place.  What a huge blessing to find such a perfect place.  Can’t wait to see pictures of the inside.  I’m so happy for you guys!  Good luck getting settled. 

  2. bakersdozen2 says:

    What an incredible blessing!! Just another indication of how much the Lord loves YOU, Cheryl!!!!! The house is just beautiful and perfect. I love the little courtyard patio on the side too ~~~~ just amazing!!Enjoy your summer, Friend!!

  3. Oh. My. Stars.  I”M in love with this home!  What a great find for your family!  Cant wait for more pics!!!!  Have fun ~ Blessings to you

  4. Hutch5 says:

    oh wow WOW!!! i LoVe it!!! and am a bit envious of that adorable garden house~ 😉 laura’s paiting is too sweet.enJOY the goodness of the Lord – – as I know you ARE and do!!{{hugs}}

  5. nicolscc says:

    This is amazing!! I can’t believe what an awesome house this is! So exciting!! Each picture you post makes me more happy for you guys – just perfect. Praise God. Doesn’t it just make your heart content?!

Leave a Reply

