~A Very Cherry Weekend~

Photobucket

This last weekend we found a local u-pick farm and headed over to pick cherries. (This farm happens to be the one that is right across the street from the B&B that I so badly wanted to rent. Of course that was BEFORE we found this house.) It is the end of the cherry season, so they were $0.50 a pound. But the trees were still loaded with cherries. We picked for about 2 hours and had 150 pounds of cherries. The children had lots of fun eating lots of cherries. Josh seemed to have more cherries on his face than anyone else.

After we finished picking, we shopped in the little fruit stand they had there. The vegetables and fruits all looked delicious. I vowed to not buy anymore veggies at the grocery store. I am going local. 😉 Besides looking fabulous, the prices were about half of the store, and I am helping support the local farming community. So my plan is to go every other week or so and buy whatever is in season. When it was time to pay, Eric looked at me and said, “do you have the checkbook?” (just for the record, I haven’t carried the checkbook for years now that we have debit cards) I blankly looked at him and said “No”. He then explained that he had assumed I would have it and that they only took cash or check. I can’t remember the last time I heard that. No credit or debit cards?? They just want a plain old check??? So we had to explain to the kind old lady our situation and then leave and go into town to find the only ATM machine at the 7 eleven. Cash in hand, we went back and paid for our cherries and vegtables.

The rest of the day was spent canning and freezing cherries. The boys asked for cherry pies and the girls wanted cherry ice cream. So we ended our day with big plates of cherry pie and heaping bowls of cherry ice cream.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Picking cherries is always more fun when hanging like a monkey!
Photobucket

Everything MUST be done in pink!!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And the pies…
Photobucket

The lavender is from my yard.
Photobucket
~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ~A Very Cherry Weekend~

  1. Yum, yum and yum!  How fun picking cherries looks.  The lavender is beautiful. I wish I could smell it. =)

  2. Izzysgal says:

    I love picking cherries! I only picked sweet this year, but had fun doing it. Love your lavender, mine died our last winter and I’m missing it. Looks like you’re having a great summer.

  3. nicolscc says:

    Mmmmmmmm – yum!! Beautiful pics! The pies looked amazing! How do you make your cherry ice cream?

  4. srheam says:

    What a great family activity!!  Local produce is so much better than that in the store.  Fresh and yummy!!  Your pie looks lovely.

Leave a Reply

