We had a birthday…

It was a very hot summer in NC. I was 19. Two weeks over my due date. I had been to the ARMY clinic that morning. I explained to the NP that my back hurt really bad. He told me it was just Braxton Hicks. Go home and come back when I started having real contractions. So home I went. Completely clueless for what was ahead of me. I remember cleaning all day. (could you say nesting?) Cooked Eric a huge dinner. My back hurt more and more. Eric went to bed. I paced the hallways in our little 400 sq ft house. A few times Eric woke up and checked on me, but we never once considered the fact that I might be in labor. Oh, our naiveness. The pain became so intense I was sick to my stomach. But all the while thinking, “just another braxton hick” Then, my water broke. Eric looked at me and asked “Did you just pee on our bed??” I assured him I didn’t and so we decided to head to the hospital. From this point on I remember very little, other than the pains. So the rest of this story is more from Eric.

We climbed into his pickup. It was still dark out, and it seemed every light was red. I began screaming at him to run the red lights because I needed to push. Eric swears there were cars driving by right in front of us and I insisted he run the red. When we got to the old Army hospital, I walked all the way up to L&D. To this day I am not sure how I pulled that one off. Upon arriving at L&D, I informed the nurse that I immediately wanted an epidural. She was a rather large African woman, who physically sat me down, shoved a paper bag in my face, (I was hyper-ventilating at this point from the pain) and proceeded to tell me that there was no way I was in labor and that my water didn’t break. If it had, I would have been in hours ago due to the pain. (Note to that nurse 11 years later…I have a very high pain tolerance.) She assured me that the Dr would check me and then they would work on the epidural. Upon being put on the examining table, a nurse screamed at the Dr who was in the room writing some charts, “Dr-gloves NOW the baby is crowning. And within seconds, (I honestly don’t even remember pushing) Laura Elizabeth was born.

This year Laura turned 10. I have thought alot about that night she was born. About how naive I was. How young I was. How unprepared I was to be a Mommy to this precious little girl. Being our first, she has paved the way for me on Motherhood. Taking me to situations that I am often clueless how to handle. How afterwards, I wish that I had done different. But thankful for the grace Jesus gives me. She has grown up way to fast. From a toddler to a beautiful young woman. She has taught me many things. She is so gentle and loving to children younger than her. She has an amazing gift with them that I have much to learn. She is creative. I love to watch her. She pays attention to the littlest details that I have overlooked. She cares so much for people. If someone is hurting, she is there to take care of them. Whether it is a band-aid or a prayer, she is selfless in her giving. She loves Jesus with all her heart. And she loves to serve others. So on my knees, I thank God for such a beautiful blessing. For my precious daughter, Laura.

Happy Birthday Laura, I love you.
~Mommy

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to We had a birthday…

  1. awww, she is BEAUTIFUL!  So is her Mom!  Have a blessed day ~

  2. littledogrox says:

    God, Time sure flies by!! I can’t believe that she is already 10. Laura is such a beautiful girl, maybe she can come spend a few weeks with us. All our love!!

  3. srheam says:

    Blessings!!  Your daughter is beautiful. Happy Birthday!!

  4. bakersdozen2 says:

    Hee hee ~Ya gotta love military medicine. Happy Birthday to Laura!!! Beautiful name AND a beautiful young lady. 😀

  5. ktalbott says:

    Happy Birthday Laura! I only met you once (I think you were three or four), but was very impressed with your maturity and obedience. May God continue to bless you as you grow and mature into the young lady He would have you be!Cheryl, What a lovely post. Hey, do your contractions happen in your back (like mine)? Just wondering if you still have similar labors or not… And what keys you have found for dealing with them. I LOVE using a TENs unit and was wondering if you were familiar with them.

Leave a Reply

