~A peek inside my house~

Well, I am pretty much all done unpacking. I have found a place for everything and if there was no place for it, then to Goodwill it went. I am still on the hunt for some specific furniture. I have my IKEA list ready for when we make the journey up there. (now 3+ hour drive vs 20 minutes) I have been checking Craigslist and some Thrift Stores around here. The great thing about needing to buy furniture for this house is that it will look so much better if I can find some older pieces since this house is very victorian. And it’s much nicer to spend less on things I am buying specifically for this house and probly won’t end up keeping when we move on someday.

The front entryway
Photobucket

Hall bathroom
Photobucket

Photobucket

Maryann taking a “princess bath”
Photobucket

My piano~ the acoustics in this house are incredible.
Photobucket

The Dining Room. We have never had a dining room before, so I’m looking for a table and chairs still.
Photobucket

The built in hutch in the dining room. This hutch is from the original farm house. Finally after almost 11 years, I get to display my wedding china and crystal.
Photobucket

Photobucket

The original front door. I love this door. It is so big and heavy. And I love the arch on top.
Photobucket

This is the “peek door” It actually opens up to see who is outside. There is no door bell on this house. Strange. Guess out here in the country we just leave the front door open and anybody is welcome in!
Photobucket

the living room. I love the fireplace. Yes, that’s green marble surrounding it. And the mantel is also orginal. I say “orginal” because alot of the wood work has been added or redone. But some has been left, so I like to point that out since this house is almost 80 years old. It was built in 1933.
Photobucket

Some of the original windows are still around. They have the weighted pulley system. You can hear the clunking as the weights move up and down when you open and close the window. Some of the windows have the rope frayed too much to open the window.
Photobucket

The window lock
Photobucket

The kitchen hutch. This has been added. This area use to be the original kitchen.
Photobucket

Looking up the stairs to the second floor.
Photobucket

And the original chandiler as you go up the stairs. It has crystal decorations. I’ll post a more detailed pic later.
Photobucket

Some art in the hallway arch
Photobucket

The orginal light fixture in the living room.
Photobucket

The master bedroom. The master bath is the door in the left and the walk in closet is on the right.
Photobucket

This is my cradle Eric made for me when Michael was born. It looks like it was made to sit there. Funny thing is, we have never had a spot for it in our house that it could just sit and I could enjoy it every time I walked past.
Photobucket

That’s all the pics for tonight. I have lots more to post another day.
~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ~A peek inside my house~

  1. srheam says:

    Oh, how interesting!!  They just don’t build houses like that now.  Thanks for sharing.  Loved it!!

  2. bakersdozen2 says:

    Your house is gorgeous. What a blessing from God! 🙂

  3. SpazzyMommy says:

    How pretty!! A very nice home. Your piano looks great where you’ve put it too. 🙂 How old is the home?

  4. What a beautful house!  I love your bathtub! The woodwork is gorgeous too.  There are so many little details, have fun decorating! =)

  5. ooo ooo, thankyou for posting pics ~ your new home is LOVELY!  cant wait to see more 🙂

Leave a Reply

