~an evening “log”~

Well, it’s pretty quiet in my house right now. GAbe is down for the night, Laura, Ben and Michael are down by the river picking blackberries, Eric and Maryann are working on the sprinklers and Josh and I are here in my chair “logging”. Josh and I were looking though some pictures I took today with my new lens and he said, “Mommy, let’s put that one on you log”. So here’s my log for the evening…

I have been super busy this week. I have a huge order for the Loma Linda Children’s Hospital Baby Boutique that will be opening next week. Huge like 25 nursing shawls, 6 quilts, 23 burp cloth sets, 23 changing pads,… the list goes on. So I have been sitting at my little sewing machine sewing away. The children have been excellent helpers from ironing to turning fabric right-side out. They have played well together while I cut, iron and sew. One of discussions today while we worked together was that I should pay them. Smart kids. We talked money, but they all decided that they would happily take 5 warm out of the oven chocolate chip cookies after dinner. So I whipped up some cookies while making dinner and they are all happy children.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Other things going on in my life. Trying to get on top of school from last year since we took a few months off for our move. Looking at a few new curriculums to try this year for English. Thinking in my head how to best schedule my days so that I can actually get everything done. School, meals, cleaning, play, work. I would really like to start out on the right foot from the beginning this school year. And how to incorporate all 5 children who want to be “schooled”. Even if they are only 2.

I have also been thinking alot about a wedding this weekend. One of my friends is getting married and I am the photographer. I am super excited for a number of reasons. I am truly happy for her and am glad I am here to attend the wedding. I love taking pictures and have really wanted to see what I could do at a wedding. So this Sat will be my first wedding. I’m glad she trusts me. I’ll post pictures next week from the wedding.

Another exciting event here is that Eric finally purchased the practice. It’s been a long agonizing process. But we finally signed this week. We went out for dinner at a fun little restauraunt here. It was a fun night celebrating with the children.

HEre are a few pics from this morning. The sun was coming up over the mountains and the lighting was beautiful. It was just Gabe and me and so we had some fun playing.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

time to get back to the sewing machine…
~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ~an evening “log”~

  1. srheam says:

    Oh, I’d like to get paid in chocolate chip cookies too:).  What an exciting time in your life….busy, but so worthwhile.  Have fun at the wedding.  I love wedding pictures!  Blessings to you. 

  2. seanjoli says:

    I love your home! Beautiful pictures of Gabe, he is soooo cute! I have been trying to get school stuff figured out also, 6 this year, a wild two year old and a baby. Have fun at the wedding, you will do great!

  3. msikkema says:

    Thanks for posting. Miss you, it’s fun to see what is going on in your life. Michelle

  4. you are one busy girl! what is this boutique at the hospital? i haven’t heard anything about it but it sounds like something that would be fun to go to. let me know! xoxo, Ashley

  5. mysweetpeas says:

    @ashleysspencer – It’s going to be on L&D. The lactation nurses are running it. It’s been in the works for over a year now. I think it is somehow connected to the main boutique downstairs, but they will have their own “store” on the third floor. You should definitely check it out in a month or two. I think it will take them that long to really set up shop. I’d like inside advice on how my stuff looks in the store. (display, creativity,…) So how are you? ARe you surviving this summer with two little ones? Any plans for after grad yet? I am planning on coming down for the alumni convention in Feb. So hopefully we can have lunch. Hey, I know we can go to the Dental Auxiliary Luncheon. haha, j/khave a great weekend~Cheryl

  6. mysweetpeas says:

    1@msikkema – Hey~been thinking about you alot these days. Hows life after grad and with two girls now. Your FB pictures look like you are having a blast. I miss you!~cheryl

  7. nicolscc says:

    Gabe is so CUTE! As are all your helpers who want to be paid in cookies. heeheeI was in Kissui a few days ago with my MIL and thought of you – are you still making things for her? She’s got some ADORABLE new homemade things from…I can’t remember the name now – but there are bibs and rompers and dresses. AGH! Too cute!

Leave a Reply

