~the county fair~

Today has been highly anticipated by the children. We’ve counted down the days, discussed the events, and even watched the weather. After spending the last few years going to the LA County fair, and having so much fun going, (last year I was 40 weeks pregnant with Gabe!) we all could not wait to go to the fair in this new county we live in. So chores done, Eric home from work early and lunch gobbled down, we headed to the fair.

Photobucket

playing in the water
Photobucket

This was the first show we watched… a “costume” showing with each child and their animal.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

It was smaller than where we were last year. But I don’t think the children minded. I gave them each $5.00 to spend however they wished. I did this for two reasons. One, they think they are SO rich and I enjoy seeing them so excited and two, then they don’t ask me to buy everything and go on every ride. It’s their money to spend on whatever they want, and they are very careful to spend it wisely. Laura went on a ride, Ben bought kettle corn, Michael bought cotton candy, and Josh and Maryann bought a sucker and went on a ride.

the latest “must have” glasses
Photobucket

and the yummy smelling food
Photobucket

Photobucket

the rides
Photobucket

But the most exciting event of the day was when Eric bought a pig. This has been a lifelong goal for Eric. When he was in the third grade, he had decided that he was going to grow up and buy livestock at the fair from the 4-H kids. So here he was tonight, bidding away on a pig. A very large pig. He chose this pig because it was the only pig for sale from the little city where he works. There was an auction with a real auctioneer. The children were a little confused at first. They thought we were going to be bringing this pig home. Josh even informed Eric when we got into the car that we had forgot the pig. So Eric carefully explained to them that the next time they would see this pig is on their plate before they eat it. Our poor little boys. They were so torn. Do we keep the pig as a pet, or do we eat it??? They all LOVE to eat, but were all hoping to have a new pet to. But to the slaughterhouse the pig went. All 300+ pounds of him. So looks like we’ll be eating bacon for awhile. I of course am very naive in this whole event. I have never been to a livestock auction, never bought an animal to be butchered, and never given any of this any thought.

the very happy boy that Eric bought the pig from.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Here are a few pictures from today. I had fun looking at everybody’s shoes and what they were wearing. Lots and lots of boots here today.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ~the county fair~

  1. inhislight07 says:

    got to love those county fairs!!! Ours is going on right now.  The kids look so happy to be there!!  I hope your pig is tasty!!

  2. Hutch5 says:

    going to the fair is a highlight of our year~ this post makes me look forward to ours coming up. all the pictures are great! love the boots~ can’t beat a good pair of boots!=)

  3. Hutch5 says:

    p.s. enjoy that pig! yum~ 🙂

Leave a Reply

