Oh where, oh where, is my husband???

Life has been very busy and very crazy as usually around here. Eric left yesterday to climb a mountain. That’s what you do around here on the weekends for fun. If of course you like to pack all your gear on your back, up very tall mountains, spending the night halfway up and climbing up glacier ice to make it to the top. Eric was super excited upon leaving, but I have a feeling that he is going to be one whooped man upon returning home. Mostly because it’s been 15 years since he last climbed.

The children woke early (or I slept in depending on how you look at it) on Friday. What woke me was the smell of something burning. I ran to the kitchen where I was promptly ushered right back out. They assured me all was fine and could I please just wait in bed. I ended up being led to the couch. They all walked in carrying something. Flowers, food, tea… It was lovely. They had made 2 eggs (ahhh, the smoke….pan with butter got WAY too hot!) 2 pieces of toast, a glass of water and a tea tray. They had picked flowers from the yard. And presented it all to me with huge smiles on their faces!

We went out in the afternoon to run some errands. The last stop was to pick up our pig. The children were full of questions on the way there and while waiting for someone to help us. I had this brilliant idea that I would ask the lady helping us to explain how the pig went from being at the fair to being in a box handed over the counter. Bad idea. VERY bad idea. First let me state that I have a very weak stomach and anything that smells the least bit off makes me want to throw up. Seems to get worse after each baby. So anyway, she asked us to come around the counter to the back room where they worked. She led us directly to the “cold room” I already was wishing that I had not asked. This room was all concrete. And there were animals hanging everywhere. Skins off but everything else still in tack. Eyes, ears, etc. She was happily pointing out the bear, the antelope, pigs, cows. There was blood running to the middle of the room where a drain was. I couldn’t breath from the smell. It wasn’t a rotten smell. Thanks goodness. But just this horrid smell of death. I looked at the boys whose eyes were about popped out of their heads. Michael was holding his nose. (He’s like his momma) I was seconds away from losing it and practically ran out of the room. Once outside, someone asked me if I was ok. umm, not really. I think they must have the best laughs after people like me leave. Once we were all out of the cold room, she showed us a few more things, like how and where they cut and wrap the meat, the smoke room, and how sausage is made. I thanked her for the tour, vowed to become vegetarian (just kidding!) paid and left. On the way home the boys were discussing about how they all wanted to go to dental school so they didn’t have to work at a place like that. (I’m quietly laughing to myself.. digging rotten teeth out of someone’s mouth can’t really be that much better in my opinion) But that is what Daddy does and they all want to be like him. Climbing mountains and fixing teeth. So I asked, “Who wants pork chops for dinner?” Silence. Not a word. I didn’t blame them. We were all a little shell shock. So we went home and made cheese pizzas. This has become a favorite meal. I let them each make their own little pizza. They have so much fun creating their pizza. And eating it is even better.

****To all my vegetarian friends, I’m sorry for the “pork” story. But I needed to write this one down!! I want to remember this when I am old!

What happens when the boys do her hair.

More is ALWAYS better!

So day two of Eric being gone. This time, shortly after I woke up, I hear “MOM-COME QUICK!!! THE TOLIET IS OVERFLOWING!!!” I raced upstairs, three at a time. I could hear it before I could even see it. The water was pouring over the top of the toilet. And it was not clean water. The children were all just standing there, staring at this waterfall. I yelled to go collect towels, splashed over to the toilet and turned the water off. Now what to do. With Eric gone, I was on my own. I considering call our neighbor, but then quickly rethought it. Asking someone that I’ve only known a few weeks to wade through my child’s poop to fix a problem that is probly a toothbrush stuck down the toilet (this has happened before) Seemed a little too embarrassing. Plan 2. Find the toilet plunger. This was a wasted effort. After checking the whole house, garage, garden house, and motor-home, I gave up on that one. Next, look for Eric’s Snake. I have seen him work wonders on our toilets with this piece of metal. I quickly located it in the garage. But after a number of failed tries with the snake, I gave up. I piled the children in the van and we drove to Home Depot. As I walked the isles, looking for plumbing, the thought crossed my mind that I should yell “UNCLEAN, UNCLEAN!!” I sure felt it anyway. I had been up to my elbows in poop water not just 30 minuted before. I should at least warn everybody who looks at me and smiles and says “Are those ALL yours??”

We found the toilet plungers. I grabbed one as if it was the last toy on the shelf the day after Thanksgiving. I looked around. Nobody else was even in the isle. Next I read the directions on the back of the Snake. Feeling better prepared to take on Niagara falls of the bathroom, I checked out and headed home. Round two in the bathroom proved to go better. I plunged away and eventually got the water to drain and fill with clean water. By now the children are reminding me every few minutes that they are starving to death. I had originally planned on making them a big breakfast this morning. Something fun while Daddy was gone. But food was the last thing on my mind. I tried the Snake again because it seemed there was still some issues with the toilet draining. But I never could figure it out. I mopped up all the water, scrubbed down the toilet, threw all the towels that had been thrown on the floor in my washer on the Sanitize load. (This is the first time I have had to use this option. It heats the water to 130F. That should kill ALL nasty germs.) And washed the floor. I forbid any child to use the toilet until Eric can check it out. I scrubbed down my arms, wished that a shower was next on my list and headed to the kitchen to make that big breakfast for the children. We finally ate at 10:45. The children decided that this was great… We were eating Brunch!!!

~~~~~Quotes of the week~~~~~~
~”God is in my tummy, right Mom?” “nope honey, He’s in your heart.” “Oh, yes, I remember” -Maryann
~”When I get a wife, I’m going to have to teach her to sew.” – Joshua (He has been helping me at the sewing machine, running the foot pedal. I guess he thinks he is pretty good!!

~Cheryl

update on Eric- He was suppose to get back from his mountain climbing adventure this evening. However there has been no communication from anyone in his party of 5. It’s now 10:30. I talked with his Dad who thinks they must not have made it down the mountain before dark and that they will have to stay a second night. I miss him so much right now and wish that I could hear him tell me that he is ok. Hopefully we will see him tomorrow.

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh where, oh where, is my husband???

  1. bakersdozen2 says:

    People actually eat bear?? ~ I thought your meat locker experience was sooo funnny. Sounds like the kind of impromptu field trip we’d do around here …… “And this is the slaughter house where they hang the dead carcasses children” (Actually, I think we have done that one before) ;)It is good that Eric is with a group of people. They’ll take good care of each other. But I know what you mean about worrying……… ~ You all will have a very happy reunion soon!! But after your experience the past few days, It’s definitely ~ “Tag You’re it! time!”

  2. This is my first visit (I think!) and you sure have had a busy few days!! I love the picture of your little girl with all the hair decorations!! Reminds me of the time my older two decided my youngest boy needed to wear all of his sister’s barrettes — I still have that picture somewhere! Trusting you husband gets home soon to your lovely family.

  3. Oh my, you have had quite the adventures.  Seems like there’s always something going on.  Rich came home one night last week and I had to ask him to plunge 2 of our 3 toilets!  Ugh.That last family pic is so so cute!And, I personally love all the flowers in your daughter’s hair….so pretty!

Leave a Reply

