~Camping in the Redwoods~

So with our all our camping gear packed, we headed off to the Redwood National Forest Thursday afternoon. We camped that night and the next morning we loaded everybody up and headed deep into the forest to do some exploring. We had a great day walking trails through the woods. The children loved climbing and exploring these magnificence trees. There are amazing to look at. And to think that some of these tress were around when Jesus was born is pretty amazing!
After we were wore out from our Redwoods Exploration, we headed back to camp for “Hobo Stew”. This is a favorite camp meal of our children. You take carrots, onions, potatoes and sausage and wrap it in foil. Then it is baked on hot coals in your campfire.
Tummies full of Hobo Stew, we headed to the beach for low tide. Now keep in mind we are in northern California. So “beach” really means lots and lots of rocks. Not a safe place to swim. But the children were not to disappointed. A storm was blowing in off the ocean and it was very cold and foggy. We toured the Light house. Very interesting! Then we headed back to camp again for some grilled cheese sandwiches.
The weather was not looking so promising, but the camp “lady in charge” assured us there was no rain to worry about. Here is where we should have gone with our gut feelings. But I think we were hoping she was right since we still had 3 more nights of camping to do.
We awoke Saturday morning to the sound of raindrops on our tents. Only a few, so we made breakfast and started cleaning up. I guess God was thinking we needed some help washing those dishes, because he sent the rains down. It began to pour. It didn’t take but a few minutes for Eric and I to realize that by the evening, the children’s tents (not very waterproof) would be soaking wet. So, we loaded up children, tore down tents, and pretty much just shoved everything in the back of the van. We were completely drenched by the time we were done. The children were all sad that we were leaving early, and Eric and I were not in the best of moods from being cold and wet.
So note to self, when the forecast calls for rain, and you are planning a camping trip with 6 little children, believe what they say and stay home and camp out in the basement!
~Cheryl

Gabe is taking after Josh and loves to have a stick in his hand

The children balancing on a downed Redwood

We saw lots of these banana slugs in the Redwoods

Rippled grain in a fallen Redwood

A dead Redwood

The children climbing on a tree stump

The boys working with Josh on walking

Gabe learning how to count the rings from Eric

Gabe 11 months

This great guy I love!

Joshua inside a redwood

I’ll post pictures of the ocean in the next day or so. ~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ~Camping in the Redwoods~

  1. Great pictures — I especially like the one of the children climbing on the tree stump! I’ve never seen the redwoods but maybe we’ll get a chance since our daughter and family have just moved to the west coast.

  2. srheam says:

    Oh, rain and tents and children…not a great mix:).  Glad you enjoyed the time you did have.  Love the pictures of the trees and the children.  Our Creator is so awesome.

  3. Hutch5 says:

    fun post. such great pictures~ your baby is getting big!! hope you’re having a super duper week there. 🙂 xo.

  4. I love seeing families outside, enjoying God’s big beautiful world! 

  5. mellibella says:

    this is wonderful!!! sometimes I think it’s too much to pack for 4 to go camping…you are an awesome mom for making the effort to do this! 

Leave a Reply

