~A hike in the woods~

A few weeks ago, we took the children hiking. It was a great day. We started out by Eric calling the children to “Attention”. His Army days never leave us. He has trained the children to all come running from all directions when “FRONT AND CENTER” is yelled. And they do. They all “Fall In” with hands at sides and eyes on Eric. Sometimes it’s hard for me to not laugh at this site. They are usually pretty clumsy at the “fall in”part as they all try to line up according to age. He will do this at any random time. To give out chores, announce an activity or pass out some treat he has for them.
This time, it was to give instructions as to how they should behave on our hike. Things to look out for like poison oak and big bears. (no worries, we make enough noise to keep all bears at a safe distance!) A reminder to always stay within our site. Stuff like that. So instructions given, he barked orders for them to march single file down the trail. That lasted all of about 5 seconds and then they all took off. So much to do. Gather the biggest stick, pick up a leaf, put a rock in a pocket. (probably all things that are suppose to be left in the forest under some environmental law, but all seem to end up in my washing machine.) We hiked about an hour along a very nice, well maintained trail. Stopped and played at a huge fallen log and a waterfall and then hiked back out. It was fun to get to explore this new part of country that we now call home.

The biggest “stick” of the day

The lovely waterfall we played by

~My Men~

~A good sign Fall is just around the corner~

~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ~A hike in the woods~

  1. srheam says:

    I love the woods this time of year.  They just smell different. Your family is beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

