~Apples, Apples, Apples~

We have had a lot of apples around here these days. Apple pies, apple sauce, apple cider. And what better way to celebrate fall than to have an Apple Party? So that is just what we did. Apples was the theme. I used them for decorating, baking, and gifts.
A few days before the party, the forecast was for rain. No surprises there. We are in Oregon after all. But then Saturday morning came with brilliant rays of sunshine and bright blue skies. A perfect day for our party! We spent the morning cleaning up and getting things ready. Laura and I had spent some time earlier in the week decorating a table, so we would know what we wanted that day. I had gone to Joann’s in search of fabric and was disappointed in the prices as I was using it for tablecloth and needed 36 feet to cover all my tables. Just as I was getting ready to leave and come up with plan B, I spotted burlap cloth for super cheap. And there was plenty of it too. It was a “seasonal item”, so I was thrilled. Perfect!
So with burlap table clothes, (This required no sewing, just cut enough for each table. And it washed great so it’s in the tub for next years apple party!) lots and lots of apples, acorns from the giant tree in our yard, and some leaves, we decorated the tables. This was definitely my favorite part.
I baked 10 dozen cupcakes, sliced apples to go with carmel dip, and canned apple butter to send home with each guest. The children were delighted that we were having a party. It’s been awhile. So each of our friends and family were invited. I am sad to say though, that I snapped a few pictures before guests started arriving, but then I set my camera down on a table and it was still sitting there 4 hours later when the last guests were leaving. So no pictures of the party. Just a few from beforehand. And the number of guests that came to our Apple party…95!


~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ~Apples, Apples, Apples~

  1. Your pictures are great – I love the way you decorated the tables and chairs and the children are so sweet. My daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter just moved to Eugene — she tells us about the sunshine while we are witnessing cold and snow here in the NE!!

  2. srheam says:

    Oh, the decorating was lovely.  I love your large glass containers for drinks.  Where do you get those?Love the apple centerpieces on the table.   I would think that that apple party was a huge success.

  3. What a fun idea!  Your tables look so pretty!  We’re up to our ears in apples over here too…tomorrow is applesauce day!

  4. Your tables and chairs are beautiful…as is all that yummy food.  Good idea on the apple party!

  5. mysweetpeas says:

    @srheam – I found the glass containers at Pier 1 Imports. They were way more than I had planned to pay, $30.00 each, but didn’t have mich of a choice and was out of time. I wanted them to be “child friendly” as their were dozens of children running around and I wanted them to be able to help themselves with out to many spills or waste. I think Costco carries a much larger one for less in the springtime. So keep your eyes peeled!!~cheryl

  6. So FUN!  Everything looks beautiful and delicious!  LOVE the burlap on the tables…well.done.you!  Blessings ~

  7. Izzysgal says:

    Your party was just lovely~ looks like it’s straight out of Better Homes and Gardens. How fun to bless your friends, looks like a special time. I totally know how it is not to have any pictures of the party when all is said and done………too much to do, no time for the camera. Blessings to you~ Jess

Leave a Reply

