~Busy Days~

I fell like the days are flying by. Hours, days, weeks…. they seem to be picking up speed. For days I have been wanting to blog, and each day I think, tomorrow. So this morning I have been thinking of all that has gone on around here. All the good things, bad things, and things that seem already forgotten.

The most excitement these days has been watching Gabe learn to walk. He’s taken his sweet time. All of our other children have been walking by 10 months. Gabe is turning 13 months this week. The children have spent months now working with him. They walked with him, encouraged him, bribed him, and the boy would just not walk. Really would not walk. He would plop his little bottom on the floor with dead weight and when they would give up, he would crawl off. It was rather amusing at times. Almost as if he was saying “I won’t walk and not a soul in this world can make me!” The children were persistent though. My favorite to watch was Maryann. She’s not that much bigger than Gabe all things considered. She would clap and squeal and yell “He’s walking Mommy!” As Gabe would take little steps holding on to the chair or coffee table. It was one of these times that I heard her clapping and squealing, that I stuck my head around the corner to see Gabe taking steps towards her all on his own. Not holding onto a thing. Think if we all had cheerleaders like this to get through life. Gabe was smiling at Maryann, and she was almost jumping up and down she was so excited for him.

Now he works at walking all the time. Crawling is still the choice for the fastest way to get around for him. But he’s getting closer everyday. As I look at him, it seems like last week that I called Eric at school and said, “You need to come home NOW, I’m going to have this baby!” With it being one of my worst pregnancies, I was more than happy to be done. Alot has happened this last year. Graduation. A big move. Bought a practice. A new job. A new community. A new house. New friends. the list goes on and on… I think this is why it seems like yesterday Gabe was born. The busier life is the faster it spins around me.

the side view of our barn

The older children have stayed busy with school and play. It is so much easier to get school done when it’s raining outside. We took so much time off this last year with are move and settling in and exploring this new home. The boys still love to head outdoors as soon as they finish up school for the day. And every time I have to remind them that we are NOT in Southern California anymore. “No flip flops or Crocs. Put on a sweater. Where’s you rain coat? Yes, you HAVE to wear socks with your boots!” They definitely don’t get this from me. I hate being cold and wet. The most I head outside these days is to get in the car to go somewhere. Gone are the sunny days that I love so much. A fire, candles, apples and cinnamon simmering on the stove, this is how I survive the winter here. No puddle jumping, pond wading, or riding bikes in the rain for me!

A highlight of the last month for me has been “date night”. While Eric was in school this somehow always got put on hold. Mostly finances, but time too. Studying, labs, and patients were far more important to graduate than a date with your wife. But that’s ok. We were in this together! But now that Eric has a job (the first real job since he left the ARMY 10 years ago…it’s been school every since) we put “Date Night” a high priority. We found a wonderful babysitter who I feel confidant leaving 6 children behind with. So every Wednesday night, I make dinner for the children, get dressed up, and drive to the restaurant of choice to meet my man. It’s been fun. No, it’s been FABULOUS!! It’s nice to not be in school anymore. There are definitely a few perks!

Here are a few quotes from the children this last week that I jotted down so as not to forget…

Joshua, after throwing a hammer at his brothers head..”Mom, I meant to throw it OVER his head, but it did not go where I threw it!” (sometimes it’s hard for me to keep a straight face with this boy)

Michael, after coming to me dripping wet and muddy…”Mom, I know you said not to accidently fall in the pond, but I was laughing so hard, I couldn’t help myself” (again, I try to keep a straight face, while scolding)

Maryann, after weighing herself on my bathroom scale… “Mommy, how much do I cost today?”
(this is how you can find her all summer. Two miss-matched crocs.)

A family birthday party… the cousins (missing Gabe and Gracie)

And the whole family…

And Great Grandpa, 92 years old

My brother-in-law, always up for a good laugh!

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~Busy Days~

  1. srheam says:

    I know exactly what you mean about the time just flying by.  I take pictures with the intention of posting, BUT…     This week I worked several night shifts and I seem to be either working, or living in the foggy funk of night shift:).  I love the picture of your little guy’s hands holding the pear (or apple).  Little chubby baby hands are just the cutest.You challenged me to consider (again) date nights with my husband.  The children seem to be forefront at this time in our lives and I don’t want to lose focus on my love.

  2. ali says:

    Cheryl, I agree with time slipping by. I don’t know how it’s almost Nov.
    We had our first snow today, so I hear ya on the cold weather!
    Pictures are so cute, and I was cracking up at what your kids say. Hilarious.
    Glad you are back to date night. We are, too and it is so much better than school!
    Take care! We love you guys!

Leave a Reply

