~a dreaded phone call and a lovely afternoon at the park~

Today was a rough day for me. I got a call yesterday around lunch from the Real Estate office saying that they would be showing the house today. For most people this is an exciting call. Maybe this will be the showing that sells. But for me, I dread these calls. Why? Because we rent this house. And it’s part of the deal. The house stays on the market. It could sell any day. Probley wont. But it could. Everybody asks if we will buy it. Nope. Why? For a number of reasons. First and foremost, because the property has all been developed. When the house sold a few years ago, it was the house and 23 acres. The Barn and shops. The river front. But since then, a company (the ones who bought it) has developed it. They put in 11 lots. The Barn will become a community center some day with storage units. There will be 11 house built up around this old farm house. And it all sits behind a set of metal gates. Thus making it a “Gated Community”. But so far, we are the only house, only family. So we call it “Our Gated Monunity” (This was Eric’s thinking). We love what this house is now, where we still have the feeling of the 23 acres. Where the children can run and ride. Where I can see out each window the mountains and valleys. Not houses built up around me. So this is reason number one. We don’t want to live in a gated community shared by everyone. Next reason, Eric has a 35 minuet commute to work. This is not bad on week days, but when he gets called in on the weekend, it takes a whole hour on top of how long he has to be at the office. And he would really prefer to shorten his drive to 15-20 minutes. Another reason, I really, and I mean REALLY want to build a house. And if we bought this house, we would be here for a very long time. So that’s the reasons we don’t buy it. But I do love this house. I love that we have got to be a little part of the rich history of this old brick farm house. I hope that we can rent for a few years, until we are ready to build something. But with a month to month agreement, there are certainly no promises.
So as I left the house with the children today, my heart was heavy. Hoping they don’t really like it that much. And now I wait to see. Did they make an offer? Do I need to find a new house? Another move? I Decided to take the children to a new park that I heard about. Something to explore and keep their minds and bodies busy. The weather was perfect. Seventy degrees and sunshine. The park was beautiful. Lots of playgrounds. A fort. And it ran along the river. We spent three hours playing and then hungry tummies ruled we come home and make pizzas for dinner.

Inside the Fort at the park

Jump Shots

Looking for “Pretty” Shells

Dead Salmon

Making water ways.

Examining a “Pretty” shell

All the boys working on their water tunnels and bridges.

Maryann asked that I take a picture of her toes. Hmmm, wonder where she got that idea…

Fishing with a stick

This boy loves rocks.

We got to watch this plane land on the water and then take off again.

The children Holding the Fort!

13 months


~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ~a dreaded phone call and a lovely afternoon at the park~

  1. I’m sorry you had to deal with the house getting shown.  That would be a stressful situation, to say the least, with six children and the phone sitting like a ticking time bomb!  I think you are wise not to buy the house.  You have the veggietales song “the gated community” stuck in my head now, LOL.I LOVE your dirty baby boy.  Oh, that’s wonderful for him.  Good clean dirt.  Have you read the book, “Created for Work”?  You would love it……….Have a great day~

  2. srheam says:

    Oh, the bittersweet.  I completely understand that you don’t want the viewers to like your house.  It seems perfect for you all right now.   How fun to watch the plane land and take off on the water. 

  3. mysweetpeas says:

    @purpleamethyst76 – How funny that you asked about the book “Created for Work”. We are very good friends with the authors family. Bob passed away last summer during a speaking engagement and left an empty void in all of our hearts here. My husband was mentored by him for years. Even before we were married. I often say to Eric “Bob would be proud of you right now” or “Bob would sure love to see those boys working like that right now!” We probley have 50 of his books on are bookshelf right now. Eric buys them directly from his wife so she gets the most money, and then gives them away to ever Dad he comes upon. A very wise and Godly man, husband, father, and friend!!

Leave a Reply

