~friends from afar~

Last weekend, we had friends come for a couple of days. Not just any old friends, but the kind that go WAY back to teenage years. (At least for me and Christina) The kind of friends that even though we have not had the chance to spend much time together over the past decade because of moves and jobs and children, they show up on our front steps, and we just pick up where we last left off. And between our 9 children, only 4 of who had previous met, they all immediately took off and played together for days. We planned nothing, just sat around and caught up on each other’s lives. Well, maybe one thing was planned…fishing! Doug loves to fish, and since we live on this great river full of Salmon and Steelhead runs going on right now, he packed along his fishing gear and spent some time in the cold rain casting away. Here’s a few pictures…

The boys all taking lessons on fishing

Some mushrooms growing down by the river.

Working onschoolwork together

A musical performance

Laura giving some sewing lessons

Making cookies

Getting ready for dinner “family-style”

And the last night was a talent show put on by the children

The “Wall Ball” champion!

Favorite Turkey Song

John 3:16-21

And last was a few boxes of yummy asian pears from our neighbors orchard that are stored in this warehouse refrigerator. Thanks Janice!

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ~friends from afar~

  1. The Enfields says:

    We wish we lived down the street!  We love you guys so much and were so blessed to be a part of your house and family for a few days.

Leave a Reply

