~dandelions, sunflare, and cookies~

It’s Tuesday afternoon. After getting school done this morning, I sent all the children outside to play. The sun is shining and giving off lots of warmth and after having been locked up for days on end with rain and cold, they were eager to head out and explore again. After getting everybody’s socks and shoes on, I headed down to the mailbox. The older children had the little ones in the wagon and met me on the walk down. They quickly pointed out that we had not been to the river this week and that it has probly risen more and “could we please go check it out?” So we got the mail and headed on down to the river. It has definitely been rising. It is so much more dangerous than this summer. The current is very swift. Most of the rocks that we played on this summer are now complete;y under water. Which as a mother of 6 children, this now gives me much to be concerned about. But the children see no danger at all so they take off! I feel like a broken record. “Don’t get so close, Don’t put your shoes in the water, Don’t FALL IN, Don’t get so close…”
We tromped and stomped all over for about an hour. It’s different to go there and not swim. There is much to do- sticks to be found and sword fought with, piles of brush to climb, animal dens to explore.
I was on my own mission. One of my girlfriends is having a baby in a few months and is currently working on the nursery. She has done a lovely theme with pink and dandelions. But still needs some black and white photos of dandelions for the walls. So the girls and I hunted dandelions down while the boys tried to find the beaver that they thought must live in the large den that they found. We found a couple, but soon realized that they were still to wet to blow. So I am drying a few in hopes of getting a picture of dandelions blowing through the air. I also wanted to try some new shots. I just learned what “sunflare” is this morning and was excited to see what I could do with my camera.
After we got back to the house, the boys started a fire in the fire pit. I baked up some white chocolate ship macadamia nut cookies (my favorite) that we bought from one of the neighbor children. They come frozen in pre-measured scoops, so all you have to do is take them out of the freezer, put them on a cookie sheet and bake. Super easy and fast! So after warm cookies and milk for snack, here I am sitting by the fire, working on pictures and this blog while the children play freeze tag.
~cheryl

~Sunflare pictures~

This one is my favorite. It looks like he is touching the sun.

~Down by the River~

Stick Fights

Never to be outdone by the big boys

~B&W Dandelion pictures for Charlotte~

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ~dandelions, sunflare, and cookies~

  1. srheam says:

    Love the dandelions!!  My girls call them wishing puffs:). 

  2. My favorite dandelion picture is the second to last one.  It is perfect in it’s simplicity. 

  3. Laura says:

    Love it Mom~Laura

Leave a Reply

