~Craizness~

It’s early Wednesday morning. Trash Day. I was laying here in bed, thinking about the day, what’s already happened and what’s still to come. Eric woke up an hour early this morning just so he could go play on the ice on the pond. The last two days he has been sad leaving to go to work when there is so much fun to do around here. Last night at dinner, the children talked non-stop about ice skating on the pond in their rubber boots. Even played a game of ice hockey. Their first actually. So Eric went and skated in the dawn of this morning, then while he was showering I hear this crash of glass. Someone had let Gabriel out of his crib, and he had made his way downstairs and was playing with the Advent candles. Glass jar candles. I don’t know if he threw it or dropped it, but it shattered into a million pieces. Got that cleaned up and back in bed (because it is so warm and I am freezing) and I hear the trash truck on the street over from us. Aggghhhh!!!! Forgot to put the trash out. So just like a crazy woman, with no time to get dressed (our trash can overflows each week, so missing trash is a huge deal) I throw on Eric’s boots that he wore skating this morning, and I run outside to a frozen world. The temp right now is 13 degrees. The race to the trash truck is on. I have found that Mr. Trash truck driver is not very nice. He picks through recycle, only taking a few things and throws the rest on the ground, hence why I quit recycling and the trash can is that much more fuller. He won’t stop if the can is not on the road. Even if he sees me coming down our very long driveway with it. And somedays, he just skips us completely. And I call and complain and they send him back.
So here I am, lungs burning from the frozen air, pj’s still on, trash can way over filled, running down the driveway. And I make it. He has not even turned onto our street yet. Yeah! One more week of trash behind me. So back inside, I am standing in my bedroom, looking out the window to see what he will throw back this week, and I am distracted. There is this fly on the inside of my window. And it is frozen solid to the glass. On the inside!! I look all around the window and their is frost everywhere. Looks like little snowflakes and it’s on the inside!!! Like what you see when flying on an airplane. I have noticed that since it got really cold, the heater never shuts off. I keep turning the heat down, but it just keeps going. Ah ha! These windows are the original windows. They are beautiful. Full of character. Preserved through all these years of this house. Over 80 years to be exact. But when it comes to insulation, well it’s definitely lacking . There are these special blinds on the windows that are suppose to keep the cold out and the warm in. But if you stand next to the window, you can definitely feel a draft. So I am getting very concerned about the electric bill this month.
So it’s now 8:00am. Everybody is up and dressed. The boys are ready to head to the pond to skate some more. But I am insisting on breakfast first. Something to warm up their tummies. Very few times in this house the boys choose something over food. But they have heard that it’s suppose to start warming up again and don’t want to miss any last chances to play on the ice. Time to get up and get dressed. The day has begun!

Some pics from the last month.

The hunt for the perfect Christmas tree.

My stick boy. Always on the hunt for a big stick!

The chosen tree

Lots of Lego play these days.

After decorating gingerbread houses.

Laura, Joshua, and Maryann’s house

Ben and Michael’s house

Decorating christmas ornaments

I think we have glittered our whole house!

Our tree.

Our Angel, who looks like she is going to jump at any moment. The tree tends to forward just a little, no matter how much we adjust it. Maybe the trunk is crooked.

Jumping on the ice. Michael looks like he is about to take off!

The frozen pond.

A game of ice hockey.


~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ~Craizness~

  1. Christina Morse says:

    Looks like you are having fun with the Ice.Tell the kids I would not want to miss the last Ice ether. I Like your gingerbread houses and your tree. <3Christina

  2. buana says:

     It’s so precious that you are able to do so much with the children.  I love the ornaments and gingerbread houses.  How cute that everyone is enjoying the frozen pond.  I remember growing up in North New Jersey and we couldn’t wait for the snow and ice.  Blessings for a wonderful Christ filled Christmas.

  3. srheam says:

    I’m smiling after reading your saga from the morning…sorry, but it just reminds me so much of me:).  Love the gingerbread houses and the gorgeous tree.  I’m sure it smells so wonderful.

  4. Izzysgal says:

    Lovely new header! Wow, you must be super MOM to put up with all the glitter, bet you’ll be finding that in all the cracks and crevices in the months to come 😉 Glad you made the trash truck, I know the feeling! I hear him coming and suddenly remember we forgot ;(. My kiddos are still waiting for the ice, there was a thin layer on the pond so they hit the edges, and now they’re enjoying the blizzard. In and out and all the soggy clothes ;), but what fun and rosy cheeks makes the mess all worth it!

  5. seanjoli says:

    I love your Christmas picture!! Looks like you have had alot of fun with the kids. We have been making alot of homemade stuff also this month Wish we could get snow or a frozen pond but that will never happen in Charleston It was 75 yesterday!!

  6. nicolscc says:

    Loved the story of the start to your morning – sounds familiar! Adore the pic of Gabe and his delicious baby cheeks! And the one of the kids so happy and excited decorating ornaments. They are all precious.

Leave a Reply

