~Christmas Party~

This weekend was Eric’s staff Christmas Party. He asked me this summer if I wanted to be in charge of it and I with great enthusiasm said “Yes”. I love parties. Everything about them. The food. The decorations. The people. Love it all. For years, I have torn out pages of magazines of different ideas for parties and decorating. I even have it all filed away. Apple party, Christmas Party, Summer party, just to name a few. So, I have spent months thinking and planning this party. That was before I got pregnant and my world came to a screeching halt. I’m glad I did so much before, because there is no way I could have pulled this off if I had been asked after I have been so sick. But, with menu written up, decorations in mind, and two amazing girls that came over in the afternoon and stayed until almost midnight, we did it!

So here are the details…

~The Menu~

Appetizers
-Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms
-Veggie Wraps
-Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil

Entree
-Cranberry Walnut Salad with Sweet Poppyseed Vinaigrette Dressing
-Prime Rib with Garlic Blue Cheese Dressing
-Provolone Risotto with Petite Tomatoes
-Steamed Broccoli
-Buttered Green Beans with Toasted Almonds
-Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Dessert
-White Chocolate Peppermint Cheesecake
-White Chocolate Cherry Tartlets
-Eggnog Truffles

Now, before you are too impressed, I need to make sure to give credit where credit is due! Katelynn and Danielle were both an AMAZING help to me. Katelynn is in her first year of Culinary school and so she kept my kitchen going while I slipped in and out of the party. Danielle took over all the children. Fed them,them took them all upstairs and entertained them with crafts, movies and stories and then put them all to bed. So there, that’s how I did it!!

The evening was lovely. I used all my china and crystal and silver from our wedding that has been boxed up for the last decade. I plan on using it much more these days now that it is in the hutch and so readily available. Eric smoked the prime rib with his new smoker. He has been having alot of fun learning how to cook with it. Everybody laughed and ate and then laughed some more. When the children were all ready for bed, teeth brushed and pjs on, they all paraded downstairs for hugs and kisses. It was a sweet little trail of children entering the dining room to bid their parents good night.

Laura making the Veggie Rolls

The Table

The Centerpiece. I used boughs from the fir tree in my yard, candles and gold ball ornaments.

Seating for 11.

The children made this sign before the Party. It says, “Please, Do Not Enter” and reminds me of a museum.

And proof that we used every single pot, pan and utensil in my kitchen while cooking. 4 hours of clean up!! (But, only one actual hour because Eric and I and Katelynn and Danielle all worked together washing, drying and putting away!)

And not a single picture of the food. I was far too busy once we started cooking and people arrived. So this is just the before and after pictures!!!
~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ~Christmas Party~

  1. Hutch5 says:

    the table looks beautiful and i’m sure your husband and everyone who came were beyond blessed by your labor of love and the sweet spirit that i can imagine permeated the house. :)reading about your kiddos parading down in their pj’s reminded me of the scene in Sound of Music where the kids sing goodnight. ! how sweet.

  2. srheam says:

    That looks delightful!!  The table is beautiful.  Love the simple elegance of the centerpiece.  Now you can relax?

  3. How lovely!!!  The food sounds soooooo good!!!

Leave a Reply

