~16 Weeks~

Today I am 16 weeks pregnant. Our little baby is about the size of an avocado: 4 1/2 inches long (head to rump) and 3 1/2 ounces. His (nope, don’t know what we are having yet, but the boys are really wanting to keep the numbers in their favor, so for now we will say he) legs, eyes, and ears are close to their final position. His hair is just starting to grow. He even has little bitty toenails this week! And his heart is pumping 25 quarts of blood each day. Amazing.

I had expected to feel little one moving around by now. With Gabriel, I could feel him at 10 weeks. Even Eric could feel his little movements. But not this baby. No little kicks or flutters yet. Sometimes late at night I will lay on my back just to see if in the stillness of the night I can maybe feel baby moving, but somehow I always fall asleep before he decides to wake up.

I am feeling much better these days, but not due to my own body being on good behavior. I have hoped for each pregnancy to be better than the last. There is nothing that I dread more than waking up one morning, running to the bathroom, getting sick, and then spending the next 4 months doing this everyday, all day and every night. I have spent more time hooked up to IV’s than I ever care to remember. I have thrown up more times than one ought to ever have to in a lifetime. It’s called “being pregnant” for me. I have watched some women breeze through their pregnancy. A few waves of nausea, but nothing to even slow them down. I really can’t even began to understand this blessing. But, that’s ok. I have survived each time, and the outcome is definitely a miracle! Worth every minute of it.

So here I am, 16 weeks and feeling pretty good. Why? One single word. Zofran. A synthetic anti-nausea drug created for chemo patients. And for some reason, it works wonders for me. I have tried many different things over the past 6 pregnancies, from wrist bands on my pressure points, to vitamin K therapy. Nothing has worked. Each time I have hoped, waited, but still I am sick. Then, after a miserable 12 weeks with Gabriel, so sick that I had to call a good friend and ask her to fly to my house and take care of my children because I could not even get out of bed to take care of them and Eric was in school with no flexibility in his schedule, my Dr gave me a script for something I had never heard of before. Zofran. I researched it. But not much out there on this drug. Other than it’s the popular “morning sickness” pill to give pregnant sick woman. And everybody is taking it.

I spent weeks not wanting to take it. Feeling guilty if I were to use a drug to help me get through my pregnancy. But I kept loosing weight, and then started having a lot of bleeding every few days and was put on bed rest. At that point, I felt like there was just not much of me left to give this little baby. So Eric went to the pharmacy and filled my prescription. And I started taking Zofran. There were no immediate results. But after a week, I felt a little better. And the next week was better yet. And eventually, I could get up, take a shower, even go for a walk for a little exercise. It was such a HUGE improvement for me that I continued taking it for 2 months. Then, slowly I backed off, until eventually I was Zofran free and still feeling great.

So with this pregnancy, after the first few trips to the bathroom, I was ready to start the Zofran. It took about a month this time, before I felt somewhat normal. Whatever normal is! I still have a bad day here and there. Still get sick once in a while. The worst one lately was a few Sundays ago. Eric bought me a mocha on the way to church. And by the end of the service, I was in the bathroom, throwing that mocha up. Wishing I had just said “no thanks”. Let me state that throwing up in a public restroom has to be on the top of my “Worst things to ever do” list. But most days, I am feeling good. I can get out of bed, shower, get breakfast going, and do school with the children. Then there’s lunch and afternoon activities and then dinner and clean up and bed time. I really have no time to be sick. So because of that, I am very thankful that Zofran works well for me. It’s only taken 7 pregnancies to figure that one out!

Here are a few pictures of me this week. Thanks to Laura~ my upcoming photographer.


~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ~16 Weeks~

  1. You look beautiful…love that bright pink and your chunky jewelry and PRAISE GOD you have a solution to your horrible morning sickness! 

  2. Christina Morse says:

    Love the pics glad you are better.

  3. seanjoli says:

    Beautiful pictures!! You look so pretty! I took the Zofran also with my 6th pregnancy. Praise the Lord for that med!!

  4. nicolscc says:

    I’m so glad there is something that can make you feel at least mostly human during your pregnancies!! You look great, Cheryl! I’m not even showing (at 11 weeks)! Great job with the photography, Laura!

  5. Hutch5 says:

    oh goodness! i’ve missed so much here… i didn’t realize you were expecting again! so happy for you guys~ Congratulations.and you look amazing! beautiful and glowy. 🙂 and i have that same necklace! ;)love & hugs.

  6. Christina Morse says:

    I love the pic of you on the hay. Laura you did such a good job.

  7. You’re so cute!  Glad you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

