~A Snowy weekend~

This last weekend we rented a house up in the mountains. Our hopes were that there would be snow up there and that it would actually snow while we were there. One might think that those were odd hopes. It’s January in the great northwest. We would be at over 5000 feet elevation. Snow is a given. But then there is me. I have this odd way with weather. Perhaps it’s because I love the sun so much. Or maybe it’s because I have wanted to actually see it snow for the last decade but it never happens. But it’s more than just that. It has seemed over the past decade that I somehow manage to keep it from snowing. It’s become somewhat of a joke in our family. We would come home to Oregon for Christmas, and it would snow after we left. Even if the forecast was for snow before we even got there. ALl we would see is rain. Rain. And more rain.

It snowed in NC when we left and were on our honeymoon up to Canada. But no snow north of NC while we were on our trip. And then there was the year we left for Kenya for 6 months. It started snowing hours after we boarded the plane. And the year Eric’s sister got married. We flew out to Oregon from NC. It had snowed before we showed up, but was all melted by the time we arrived. Every day there was a chance of snow. But just rain was all we got. Then we left and it snowed.

So the day before we left to head up to the mountains, one of my son’s suggested I stay home for the first two days and then just come up on the last day. His motive was skiing. We had promised the children that if there was snow on the mountains, we would put them in ski camp at the ski lodge and they could learn how to ski. So of course rain would mess up their grand plans of learning the art of skiing. But the other children quickly said they would rather have me along than go skiing.

So suitcases, sleds, and food packed, we were on our way. Upon arriving, there was about an inch of snow on the ground. The children were delighted. The house we had was at the bottom of a hill on a quiet street. Perfect for sledding. The sun was shining and the snow was melting, but there was some snow. Then that night while we slept, it snowed another inch. We never saw a cloud though. That morning after the snow, the sun was bright and shining. Eric and his Dad took the older three and headed to the lodge. It was truly a perfect day to learn how to ski. Fresh snow, sunshine, and some awesome instructors. I stayed at the house with Josh, Maryann, and Gabe so I missed out on all the excitement of them learning. But Eric was very impressed.

By the end of the day, the boys were doing jumps and skiing all over the place. Laura was a little more conservative, but was flying down the slopes with the boys. They all came home exhausted but bubbling over with all the days adventures. The younger children, Eric’s mom, and I had a very quiet, relaxing day. We played games, went sledding, and took a nap. Oh, and ate cheesecake!

The next morning we awoke to dark clouds. It wasn’t long before it started snowing. First little flakes. Then bigger flakes. Harder and harder. We finished breakfast and bundled up. Then we all headed out into a snowing winter wonderland. We went sledding, made snow angels, and had snow ball fights. The snow was cold and stung our faces as we played, and slowly the little ones headed back in one at a time. Laura made everyone hot chocolate with big blobs of whipped cream to warm us up when we all came back in.

And so, after all the years, it finally snowed where I was at. I loved every minuet of it. The quietness of the snow compared to the rain. The bright white compared to the dull gray. It was beautiful!

It continued to snow as we packed up that morning. By the time we left, all our tracks from playing earlier were completely covered up. It was fun to drive in the snow.(At least for everyone except for Eric who was a little stressed driving down the mountain roads completely covered in ice and snow.) And then it was as if you blinked. We went around a curve and there was the rain. Dull, gray, and wet. And it stayed raining all the way home.


Maryann getting some air before landing on her sled and heading down hill. She was so fun to watch.


Ben trying to snow board on a sled.


Michael working on his jumps


Michael trying out Eric’s snowshoes.


The girls bedroom at the house we stayed in.


The main room of the house with beautiful views looking out at the mountains.


The views out the window on Saturday morning.


Game time. A favorite of the weekend!


The road down the mountain.


~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ~A Snowy weekend~

  1. mysweetpeas says:

    @mellibella –  No, we are not in NC anymore. We moved in 1999. We live in Oregon now. But I grew up in Fayetteville. Have you lived there your whole life?

  2. srheam says:

    That place looks like the perfect get-away.  The snow is gorgeous:).

  3. What a fun time you had!! We were in Oregon (Eugene) visiting our daughter and family over Christmas — it rained, and rained and rained! We did see snow on some of the mountains. It was very very cold here where we live in Upstate NY while we were away so we didn’t really mind the rain — at least it was warmer. We did get up to Portland one day — is that Mt. Hood in your pictures? We weren’t able to see it the day we were there as it was very foggy.

  4. nicolscc says:

    Beautiful!!! So glad your “no-snow curse” was broken!

  5. SpazzyMommy says:

    Im in the NC Piedmont and their predicting up to 8 inches for us tonight. 🙂 Are you still in NC? I’d love to meet you!!!! I love your pictures…the house is gorgeous….but the smiling face of your little one is just priceless!!

  6. Hutch5 says:

    looks like tons of fun! i love all the air-born shots! =)

  7. Ali Seaman says:

    WE miss you!!! How fun! Glad it finally snowed while you were around! I’m sure your kids had a blast! Beautiful pictures. Let’s talk soon. Miss you!

  8. mysweetpeas says:

    @myhopeisinjesus – I think it is Three Fingered Jack. We were about 3 hours south of Mt Hood. I love the Mt. Hood area. My husband had looked at a practice in that area, but it didn’t work out. I would have loved living up there though. It is so beautiful. It has been fun seeing your pics of Oregon. So many of the places I thought “Oh, I know right where that is!” Blessing to you this week!!! ~Cheryl

  9. mysweetpeas says:

    @SpazzyMommy – I left NC over 10 years ago. I grew up there and got married and then moved to Oregon. I lived in Fayetteville growing up. One of these days we want to make a trip back and show our children where Mommy grew up. So when we do, we’ll have to get together for coffee!!

Leave a Reply

