Day 3 ~ Out at Sea ~

I awoke not feeling very rested. The bed was small and very uncomfortable. Today was a full day of sailing. We were headed to Costa Maya, Mexico, which would take almost 30 hours at sea on this vessel. The weather was still very cold and very windy. We headed to the buffet for breakfast, and were greeted by a very happy staff member who had a very large spray bottle full of some mysterious liquid. He greeted us with “Washee, Washee!!!” I had to stop for a second to process what had just been said to me. hmmm, “Washee, washee”… Ok, this sounds like something a preschool teacher might say to her class before lunch. I quickly looked around. No children. Just adults. I look back at this guy who has his spray bottle aimed at me and this huge smile on his face. Then someone comes from the other side. They stick out their hands and he sprays them while saying “Washee, washee!!!” Ok, I get it. So I put out my hands, half ready to defend myself if needed, and half accepting his blast from the bottle. He laughs and tells us to have a good breakfast. Now that we are all sanitized, we head to the buffet and grab some food for breakfast. Let me state that I think this is a great idea. How many adults actually practice what we preach to our children and wash our hands before EVERY meal. And with a ship full of thousands of people, germs are definitely a huge issue. The last thing any of us want is to get sick while on vacation. And I can only imagine the nightmare of that many people all contracting the same virus. Not a good situation. So every restaurant on board had guards at the door that attacked you with spray bottles before allowing you to enter. And this also happened each time we boarded the ship while in port. So, no bad germs were allowed to enter the ship. I think I might instute this new concept at my house. I’ll put a child guarding our front and back door with a spray bottle and anyone who enters get a spray from the “Washee Washee” guard. Ha, that would be funny. Very impractical, but funny!

The weather never warmed up that first day at sea. We spent some more time exploring the ship, which had 12 floors. We read some. Met new people. Found out that there was a Dental Convention on board this cruise. Which meant there were lots of dentists. But since this cruise was about me and Eric, and spending time together, there was no time for Dental Classes. The ship had many activities on board to keep you busy. From Bingo to shopping, it was all there to do. After dinner each night, there was a show in the “Stardust Theater”. From Broadway Musicals, to Acrobats, to a Magician, each night was a fun new show.

After the show.

The Stardust Theater

I think I look a little alarmed with all that rocking and swaying from the boat!!

Self taken picture. A little scary!

A Caribbean Sunset.

My second night on board was better than the first. Our captain managed to steer clear of the icebergs that had kept me awake the night before. We were now in the Caribbean Sea and would be making our first port stop, Costa Maya, Mexico, bright and early the next morning.
~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 3 ~ Out at Sea ~

  1. Christina says:

    Self taken picture is not that scary. I really like it. You are good at taking self pictures. πŸ™‚ The Washee people look very nice.

  2. Izzysgal says:

    Love reading your updates….your trip sounds so delightful! I’ll think I’ve had my dreams come true if I ever get my husband to take me somewhere warm and sunny with lots of sand and water πŸ˜‰ His idea of fun always seems to have something to do with hunting πŸ˜‰ I much prefer some rays myself. I always love a weekend away, but feel like I just need a few more days to really totally get into it. I feel like it takes me a couple days to realize…hey, I don’t have any responsibilities, just chill and relax! Can’t wait for more pictures.

Leave a Reply

