Day 5~ Santo Tomas, Guatemala~ Part I

We were informed that we would be “tendered” to shore today. This means that the cruise ship can not get close enough to shore to allow the passengers to walk along a pier to the mainland. So, small boats, like water Taxis, come out to the cruise ship to bring the passengers to shore. This was about a thirty minuet boat ride across very choppy waters. Once on the mainland, we were immediately placed in another boat to began our tour of the Rio Dulce and the little town of Livingston. Rio Dulce is a river that goes from the Caribbean Sea deep into the jungles of Santo Tomas. And to the lives of the people that live in this jungle. We rode about an hour inland, and then stopped at a little village. The houses were all built on stilts over the water. As soon as we got to the pier, little children paddled up to our boat in their hand carved wooden canoes, with little animals that they had caught that morning. Crabs, turtles, a parrot. All hoping for a dollar for their little catch of the day. One boy had even picked a bouquet of water lilies. I examined each little child’s animal, took their pictures, and then headed into the house of “Maria”. She was busy making tortillas over a wood fire. She offered in Spanish to teach us, and I quickly volunteered myself. She already had the dough mixed up, so she gave me a little ball and showed me how to flatten it. It was more like a flat bread than what we would call a tortilla, but it was still good to eat. After shaping it, I laid it alongside hers on the little stove she was cooking on, and then after it cooked, we spread a butter-like substance over it, put on a scoop of fish ,rolled it up and ate it.

Mouth of the Rio Dulce

Water lilies

A baby crib in Maria’s kitchen

You can even buy Coke here!

A little boy running the store.

Blankets for sale.

Cooking the tortillas

The sink

Maria at work in her kitchen.

The little girl who stole my heart!

Turtle


~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 5~ Santo Tomas, Guatemala~ Part I

  1. srheam says:

    What gorgeous pictures.  It always amazes me how “happy” these people seem with so little earthly possessions.  The water lilies are so exotic looking.  Thanks for taking us along with you;) with your pictures! 

  2. Christina says:

    what beautiful pictures.

  3. Ali Seaman says:

    Alright, this made me want to cry! These are my peeps… well, they’re close enough that it made me ache for Honduras. Aren’t they so humble and sweet? The little kids are beautiful and the warm, fresh corn tortillas are so scrumptious. Man, I miss it–all of it. Glad you’re sharing so I can live vicariously. How did they children do? Especially Gabe? Being away that long must have been hard, but fun!Thanks for making my heart hurt… in a good way. Now I will just try not to covet! :)Miss you!

Leave a Reply

