Day 5~ Santo Tomas, Guatemala~ Part II

After we had all explored Maria’s house/store, we loaded back into the boat and headed back down the river to the city of Livingston. This city is a little island, where slaves were placed to work on the plantations. However, they were not fed, so eventually each would starve to death. Then, a jurist and politician from America, named Edward Livingston, happened to visit the island and saw the inhumanity that was taking place. He was horrified by the cruelty, and instituted laws that gave food and water to the slaves. And most important, their freedom. The city was then named after him. Livingston is still a very poor town. The plantations are all gone, and fishing and tourism is the main source of income now.

We walked along the streets, and stopped for another Coca Cola in a glass bottle. Then we all climbed back into our little tour boat and headed back to the cruise terminal. We had about an hour before we needed to board the ship, so we went into the “Jade Museum” which is really just an indoor shopping center. Kinda like a flea market. There was a stage with dancers and musicians performing, artisans working on their hand crafted goods and food booths all around. They even had a little counter where they would stamp your passport for free. So passport stamped, gifts bought, we headed back to the ship.

A hot springs on the side of the river as we headed back to Livingston.

Our captain of the River Boat.

Life on the river.

A caged alligator.

My Coke!

The Seventh Day Adventist Church

Siesta Time!

I loved the door and shutters on this house. So much color!

beautiful pregnant momma in her store.

Main street in Livingston

Main mode of transportation.

Fresh pineapple

Starving dog

I loved the colors everywhere!

Local hardware store.

Ice cream man

Taxi

Where the river meets the ocean.


~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 5~ Santo Tomas, Guatemala~ Part II

  1. SpazzyMommy says:

    The colors are phenomenal!!! BEAUTIFUL!!! πŸ™‚

  2. mellibella says:

    AMAZING PICTURES!!!! Thanks so much for sharing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

