Day 8 ~Back to America/The Storm~

By now I was doing better sleeping on this ship. The sounds were not so bad with the ear plugs. I had all but mastered walking 5 months pregnant in a swaying boat. Even if it did look like I was drunk. Then came the storm. It started during dinner on Friday evening. The boat began to rock and sway. Eric wanted to check it out from the decks, so out we went. We were greeted by hurricane gust winds. Eric had to hold onto me to keep me from being slammed into the railing. He took me to the front of the ship, where I thought for sure that I would be blown over board. When I would go to take a step, my leg would be blown a few feet in front of me, almost as if I was bouncing thru the air. I was terrified. Let me re-state that, “I WAS TERRIFIED!” Eric brought me back inside the ship, and we headed to a room that had windows surrounding the front and sides on the ship. We sat and visited with some new friends for a while, and then between her stomach not feeling good and me having a growing anxiety attack, we all decided to head for bed.

Eric suggested on the way to our room that I take some Bendryl to help me sleep better. But we weren’t the first ones to think of that, all the Bendryl was already sold out in the ship’s little store. I managed to fall asleep, but not for long. I was awakened by the deafening sound of waves crashing against the boat. And then the boat being thrown from one side to the other. I was almost thrown out of my bed. I think I probley screamed at that point as I violently shook Eric awake. He looked out the window, and the waves that had been 20 feet below us were now smashing up against our window, completely covering it in water. Each wave that smashed against the boat would rock us violently. And at that point I had a total and complete melt down. I begged Eric to get me off the ship that second. Very unrational, I know, but I was anything but rational at that point. I am not sure why, but I am utterly terrified of drowning out at sea. All I could think about was getting off that ship. Each wave roared in my ears like a cannon going off. And the boat felt like at any given moment we would tip right over. Did I mention that I was terrified??? Eric however, was very calm. He assured me that the only thing the captain was concerned about, was all the passengers that were currently getting seasick from the storm. I could not in my mind believe this. I was remembering scenes from “Titanic”, thinking I would never see the morning light again. Eric rolled over and went back to sleep.

I was about to lose my mind. I felt completely trapped in our tiny little stateroom. There was not a place on that ship that I felt was safe, and I certainly had no trust in the captain that I had never even met. I shook Eric awake again, informing him that I could hardly breath and I was certain that we were going to sink any moment. I’m not sure he ever really woke up. But he assured me once again that we were safe, and there was nothing we could do but sleep the storm out. Right…Sleep… So I crammed my ear plugs as deep into my ears as I could, turned the TV on as loud as it would go, curled up under the covers, and began to recite Psalm 23.

The Lord is MY shepard.
I shall not WANT. (to get off this boat right now!)
He makes me lie down in GREEN PASTURES. (All I can think about is how this boat is tossing me around in my bed right now!)
He leads me besides QUIET WATERS. (not this raging storm I’m in!)
He RESTORES my soul. (Because I feel like I’m losing my mind!)
He guides me in the paths of righteousness for HIS name’s sake.
Even though I WALK (or sail) through the valley of the shadow of death,
I FEAR NO EVIL. (I’ve always loved storms, but right now I am very afraid!)
For YOU are WITH me.
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.
You have anointed my head with oil.
My cup overflows.
Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life,
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.
(NASB)

And I did find peace. And rest. And I survived the storm to see the morning light.
~cheryl

Because I’m not completely crazy… I just read the headlines for Yahoo news a few days ago, and what do you know, a cruise ship out at sea was struck by a 30 foot wave that ended up smashing out windows and flooding some of the ship. They weren’t even in the middle of a storm. It was quite a ways off. Two people died and hundreds had minor injuries. The deaths were from glass and furniture being thrown around. So this just justifies to me that I wasn’t totally crazy in thinking that we could have had an accident from that storm. I told this to Eric and he just smiled at me and said “I love you!”

Our last sunset on the boat.

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 8 ~Back to America/The Storm~

  1. srheam says:

    Oh, I would have been terrified right along with you.  I sort of have that type of fear about flying too.  I get such motion sickness, I don’t think I’ll ever venture on a cruise!! 

  2. “WOW”. You did better than I would have! The picutres are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

