~A Birthday Tea Party~

A few weeks ago, Laura had a Birthday Tea Party for a girlfriend. She spent months planning it. First she chose a theme…lemons… and then went from there. The menu was:

Lemonade
Lemon Tea
Lemon Bars
Tuna fish sandwiches
Veggie wraps
Lemon Cake
Lemon Candy

We had fun shopping for the ingredients and special little decorations for the special day. That morning we awoke to dark clouds and rain and wind, but our dining room was bright and ready to welcome the girls to tea. Laura had spent most of Sunday afternoon baking, so Monday morning was just decorating and putting together a few last minuet things.

A few minutes before the girls arrived, I walked into the dining room and found Gabe up on a chair. He was thrilled with the spread of sweets before him. He had even found an empty bottle of his and set a place for himself. So when I picked him up and carried him back to the kitchen, the poor little guy had a meltdown. He knew this meant tuna fish in the highchair in the kitchen with the other boys. He was so inconsolable that I ended up putting him down for a nap a little early.

The tea party was lovely. I had fun watching the girls eat and drink. It was also fun to get a chance to serve Laura and her girlfriends. Laura helps me every day. I often say she is my right hand. She loves to cook and clean and take care of Gabe and Maryann. So on this day, I got the blessing of serving my precious daughter and watching her and her girlfriends talk and laugh and talk some more!

Gabe at the table.

His bottle in the spot he reserved for himself.

Mad at me for removing him from all the food!

Lovely name tags by Emily

The Birthday Girl!

Lemon Tea with LOTS of sugar!!

The favorite food of the day. Lemon candies.

Laura’s decorating

Laura’s hand stitched gift to her girlfriend.

All the big girls helped with clean up. Within 30 minutes, every dish was washed and put away!

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ~A Birthday Tea Party~

  1. srheam says:

    Love the idea of “lemons” for the theme!  Ohhhh, lemon bars…YUM.  Like the daffodils with the lemons.  It is so cheery.

  2. Mary Millard says:

    That was really fun! tell laura that it was a REALLY good idea to do the lemons! and that ever thing was BEAUTIFUL! thanks for all the hard work! Mary

  3. maryhurlbut says:

    Hello Again,I know it’s been awhile, Facebook has kept me from my favorite bloggers on Xanga. How sweet your daughter’s themed party is and how it makes me think back over the many different ones my own daughter had…a Star Wars Gala, Ballet Bunnies, Under the Sea and Everything Green to name a few. I just shared these cute pictures with her too.I thoroughly enjoyed your Cruise/Honeymoon photos. Loved all the colorful places you visited. SO MANY GREAT PICTURES!But most of all, congratulations on the new little baby girl that will soon be with you all.God Bless and Keep you

  4. LarissaN says:

    That’s so awesome!  What a great way for Laura to practice hosting friends.  🙂  Did she make that cake all by herself?!  I’m not sure I can even do swirls like that.  🙂  Gabe is getting so big too.  I miss you guys!~Larissa

  5. Christina says:

    Thank you so much for doing that for me. I had a great time. The pic of Gabe is so cute.

  6. mysweetpeas says:

    @LarissaN – Larissa, We bought the cake at the store. But the swirls are easy. Take a knife and make diagonal lines one way and then go back and make them the other way. Looks amazing, but it’s very easy! Been thinking about you alot these days and waiting to see what God does in your lives! ~cheryl

  7. mysweetpeas says:

    @maryhurlbut – Thanks for the sweet note. I was going to tell you after reading one of your posts that we have a lot of friends down in ALERT. It’s a great program and we have seen some boys turn into very Godly men while doing their training there. Your pics make me miss So Cal so much! Especially the beach ones! ~Cheryl

Leave a Reply

