Easter Sunday

This weekend we spent with Eric’s family. Easter Sunday was a very long day, but one that has special memories especially for Eric. His Grandparents church has had a Sunrise Service he has gone to for as long he can remember. As a little child, his parents would wake him in the wee hours of Easter morning, get dressed and drive to the church. Then when we got married, each year that we were living close by his Grandparents, we would attend the Sunrise service. And the years that we were far away, we would find a service to attend. And when we were even to far away for a local church to attend, he would wake our family up and we would walk to someplace that he had chosen to have our own little Sunrise service. The most vivid memories I have is in Turkana, Kenya. We lived 2 degrees north of the equator and had exactly 12 hours of light and 12 hours of darkness. On Easter morning, he awoke us all, and we hiked to a little hill. We just had Laura and Ben at the time, and our little family sat on that hill and watched the sunrise up over the dessert. We sang songs and Eric read to us from the Bible. It was a beautiful morning.

Other years weren’t as much fun for me. Years that I have been pregnant and sick and just wanted to crawl under the covers and keep on sleeping. Or trying to wake all the children at such early hours, when it is still dark out. The older ones are quick to get up and get dressed. They now look forward to this early morning and the special time of being together as a family on Easter morning. Before the easter egg hunts and baskets of candy and big easter dinner.

I am glad that we were back home again to spend this Easter with Eric’s grandparents. They are both amazing people to me. In their 90’s, they have spent their whole life working hard and serving others. Grandma especially has a very special place in my heart. Since the day I married Eric, she had counted me as one of her grandchildren. She has remembered every one of my birthdays. She has brought over meals when I had babies and lived close by. She has encouraged me and blessed me in ways that I could never even began to try and explain here. And I know it delights her to see her grandchildren and great grandchildren (my children) show up at her little church so early on Easter morning. I am thankful that Eric has worked so hard over the years to make this a special day for our family.

27 weeks

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easter Sunday

  1. Christina says:

    I love the Easter pics

Leave a Reply

