Catching Up..

It seems these days don’t have enough time in them to accomplish everything I want to get done. Or maybe it’s just because I lack the energy to be efficient enough to get it all done. Either way, every day I fall into bed exhausted, with my lists unfinished and waiting for me the next morning.

Things have been a little hmmm, should I say simple, (this is what comes to my mind) but to Eric I think the word would be boring, uneventful. So, it looks like we are about to embark on another wild and new adventure very soon. I had high hopes that this summer would be slow…simple…uneventful. Especially after this last year with graduation, a new job, a new city, new friends. But, I am married to a man who loves adventure and I have chased after him for the last 12 years and plan on chasing after him the rest of my life. Which happens to mean that instead of a quiet summer to have a baby and really do nothing else, my life will be spinning around me, changing again. If it all works out. We will know soon enough.

Other things that we have had going on latley… A wedding of two of our friends. The children are always thrilled to be invited to a wedding. They love dressing up. Eating all the candy and nuts in the little bowls. Drinking to their hearts content of punch. And visiting with everybody that shows up. I had asked the boys if any of them would like to stay with a friend during the wedding, expecting them to all raise their hands. I mean really, climb trees and play cowboys and indians vs go to a wedding and act like a gentleman?? But they all stared blankly at me for a few seconds and then all agreed that they wanted to go to the wedding. PArt of the reason that I was offering to play with their friend was because Eric was out of town for the weekend and the wedding was an hour away. Which meant getting 6 children ready, driving an hour, and then attending the wedding with all the children all by myself. But they all assured me they would be excellent and they worked really hard to help make my day easier.
The wedding was beautiful. I always love to hear the pastor and his challenge to the almost married couple. I love to be reminded of all the symbols that we have for marriage. This pastor did such an excellent job in his commission to this couple. You could tell by his words and the expressions on his face that he so loved his wife. That he cherished her and his love was unconditionally. Though the thick and thin. The good, the bad, and the ugly. And that he loved her so much more that day than the day he had wed her. And why not?? After spending so many years of your life with someone, you know them so much more than you did that day you said “I Do”.
I survived the entire day. Gabe was a handful by late afternoon. Only a short little nap and completely pumped up on sugar, he didn’t really think there was any reason to listen to me. And Daddy had been gone for 2 days, which always seems to make matter worse. But we made it all the way though the wedding and reception with no major scenes. And he was asleep before we even got on the freeway to head home.

Gabe stomping in puddles with his suede shoes.

I have been taking a photography class at the college. It’s not exactly what I had in mind when I signed up. But I have definitely learned some new things. How to better use my camera in the different modes. I tend to always use the automatic mode, which is a no brainer. But numbers and ISO’s and f-stops and shutter speeds make my brain hurt just thinking about it all. So this class was to help me get more familiar with all of that. It’s funny to me sometimes when I go somewhere without the children. People just assume this is my first baby. So I hear things like, “Is this your first?” or “Oh, you must be so excited to be starting your family!” or “Oh honey, your whole life is about to change having a baby!” Sometimes I just smile politely and nod my head. But them sometimes the obnoxious girl in me just has to say, “Oh, I already have children” to which they always ask how many. I calmly say, “Six”. That’s when their chin hits the floor. They go speechless. And for being able to dish out loads of advice on how I should cross over into motherhood from being childless, they now have no information to give me. No help at all. None. And then I just want to laugh. Laugh because the conversation is really just too funny. Laugh because it’s the same type of people at the grocery store or Costco who tell me how miserable I must be having 6 children and do I know how to not get pregnant. Then they end up right behind me in the check out lane and are soon telling me “how well behaved my children are” and “what good little helpers I have” and could they please take one home with them… Maybe even a couple. “What isle did I find these children on?” they jokingly ask. “Are they for sale?” However did I get them to be so well behaved and do I always dress them in matching outfits? One of the children always likes to point out too that I am pregnant and we are having another girl. Which means the numbers are getting closer in boys vs girls. But the boys still have the lead. Seriously, I meet these kind of people almost every time I go out with all the children.

Hear are a few pictures from this last month. I have not been so good at taking pictures as I have just been so tired. Only about 3 more weeks to go!!!

Memorial Day BBQ

Preparing for water ballon fight.

My favorite guy in the whole world!

The beautiful flower waiting for me on my bedside table and note to go with it.

Gabe dropping his binky.

Some pictures before church.

A pic from my photography class. Learning how to soften water.

Working with different lighting.

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching Up..

  1. srheam says:

    Hee Hee…hope you aren’t expecting your life to be “boring” any time soon :).  I had to laugh about your grocery store comments by other shoppers.  I only have 5 and I still get the “are they all yours?” question.  Don’t exactly know what a mother of 5 is supposed to look like, but obviously I don’t have the look either.Blessings to you during this busy summer season.  I enjoyed your post!! 

  2. SpazzyMommy says:

    Your photography class sounds like fun! I have been in a portrait class for the last 8 weeks. We have lots of fun and go to the most “awesomest” shooting locations. šŸ™‚ The numbers and ratios will come to you soon enough without it seeming so overwhelming. I am finally getting to the point that I can change the shutter speed and apertures without having to look at the dial. (LOL) I thought I’d never get there. Soon enough it will be second nature.I guess I didn’t realize that you were expecting! Congrats…and only 3 weeks to go?? Wow. Rest well…and ignore the comments people make. šŸ™‚

  3. It’s amazing the way people put their feet in their mouths huh? I get comments and we’ve only got 4! It goes to show you how the world views children as a liability and trouble instead of a blessing! You look gorgeous! Can’t wait to see the new addition!

  4. Christina says:

    Gabe’s suede shoes are really cute.

Leave a Reply

