~A Tea Party Fit For A Princess~

Back in January, we had a girls day with Grandma Beth and visited a Tea House. We had a lovely lunch and Maryann announced after our trip there that she wanted to go back for her birthday. She turned four on Monday and so today was the chosen day to celebrate her birthday. We don’t normally have big birthday parties. Just a special day for the birthday child. They get to pick their favorite meals for the day and we make a cake. A few presents and that’s it. But this year I wanted to add a special event that they would choose. And Maryann chose a Tea Party.

 

Originally I was just thinking the girls. I figured the boys would be bored out of their minds. But they all quickly assured me that they wanted to come along and that they would all behave like gentlemen. They wanted to wear their suits. So we talked about all the things that gentlemen do. I think secretly they were wanting to get in on the good food that we girls had boasted about from our previous trip. And the sugar cubes. 

 

I had forgot to check and make sure each boy had a suit that fit him. I usually pick up random pieces at thrift stores. They usually still look brand new. But, this morning as everbody started to get dressed, we realized we were missing quite a few sizes… 

 

Like everything for Gabe. So he wore Josh’s suit from last year. And it was WAY too big on him. But I had to make a decision at that point. Either bag the whole idea of siuts because these boys were going to look like they were playing dress-up because of all the ill fitting sizes, or just let everybody “Dress Up”. And dress up is what I decided. So we put Josh’s old suit on Gabe, we put suspenders on Josh to keep his pants up. And made a pit stop at Wal Mart to get a shirt for Ben.

 

Maryann picked out my clothes. She has been talking and planning for days on what we girls would wear. We did our make-up and hair together. She wanted to look like “the dancing lady at a wedding” aka-the bride. So we pinned her hair all up and put curs in it. The boys came into my bathroom wanting to look good too. They put on Eric’s cologne and did their hair. Josh has really enjoyed parting his hair WAY over. It’s hard not to laugh at him, because he thinks he looks “so sharp!”. But the part is a little extreme. One of these days I am going to get it on camera. 

 

So everybody looking their best, we drove to the Tea House. The lady who owns it loves children. I had called ahead and made reservations. She was thrilled that the boys had come along, and encourage them to pick out hats and some “accessories”, like swords and such. The boys were delighted. THey had sword fights out in the garden. Maryann rummaged though all the dress up clothes that were in the closet. And wondered all over her house, looking at all the pretty things she has for sale. 

 

We all had a lovely time. The boys did a great job acting as gentlemen and protecting us princesses at the same time with all their new found swords. They pulled out chairs, held open doors, and let the girls go first.  Maryann was right in her element!

 

On our way in.

 

Trying on hats

 

and glasses…

 

The chandelier that hung over us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Playing in the mirror

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The dress up closet

 

 

 

Officer Josh caught an alligator!

 

 

Ben loved this hat.

 

 

The PiNk birthday shoes from Grandma Beth

 

 

 

 

Daddy joined us for dessert

 

 

Hats the boys found for us.

The sugar grabber / The Gentlemen paying for lunch

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ~A Tea Party Fit For A Princess~

  1. cerwindoris says:

    Great pictures! I love tea parties.

  2. seanjoli says:

    I want to go there!!! That looks like so much fun! Beautiful pictures

  3. srheam says:

    How.Fun. Is. That!!  I’m sure they all loved it.  Isn’t it fun to enjoy a tea?!  I don’t know if I would brave it with my children..Hee Hee. 

  4. swartz833 says:

    Love love the pictures your kid are great, husband looks great in his crown and love your hats

  5. oh my goodness…what a fabulous post. We have a tea room here that i love…but one with dress up stuff makes me smile soooo huge. i love that you were all dressed up…what a great birthday for a young lady and the boys did such a great job being gentleman…what a beautiful memory. i also like that Daddy was able to join in the fun for a bit as well. may your dear daughters year ahead be blessed…and you as well.

  6. What fun! It looks like a total blast. Oh and tell Ben I think his hat looks very dashing. He should have one of his own.

  7. This post made me smile from ear to ear!  LOVE it!!!!!  Looks like a wonderful time was had by all.  Times like this are what kids remember forever.  Thank you for sharing! ~Deborah

  8. Coach Outlet says:

    Looking forward for more such stuff.There should be something you like:http://www.coach7stores.com/

  9. You make me feel very clear, very unique flavor, trouble please paste my site: http://www.nike2us.com/

Leave a Reply

