~”The View was AMAZING Mom!!!”~

This weekend Eric and his Dad took the three older boys and climbed a mountain. They left Friday morning and just got home this evening. This was the first mountain that Ben, Michael, and Josh have climbed. They each had their own backpack with all they needed to live for 24 hours on a mountain. Eric packed the food and the tent. 

It was so much fun to hear them when they came home. Michael had collected Lava rocks for “all the girls”. His pockets were filled with trash that he found along the way. They were all sunburned but bubbling over with all their adventures. I asked Ben what it was like to be on top of a mountain, (I have never climbed) and he said “The view was AMAZING Mom!!! I could see forever!” I asked him if he was scared at all up there. Without even thinking about it he said, “yeah, a little. I didn’t want to fall.” 

Well, I’m glad they all made it back safe and sound. I think Eric sucessfully introduced our boys to the thrills of climbing a mountain. Some great life lessons there… 

-Like how hard it is to get to the top.

-What you miss out on when you decided it’s too hard and just sit down and quit.

-How easy coming back down is. 

-Working together can make it a lot easier.

The girls and Gabe and I had a great weekend. We went shopping, finished up the girls room, and hit a few yard sales. For lunch on Friday we went to Red Robin, Maryann announced to our waitress that it was her birthday, (last week) so they brought her an ice cream sunday and clapped and sang her a song. She was thrilled at first, but then almost started crying. Too much noise and attention. But I think the Sunday made it all worth while. 

Before the climb.

 

Base Camp.

 

Cooking dinner with a stick.

 

Eric and the boys.

 

Papa and the boys.

 

Sunrise.

 

Keeping warm at night with hot chocolate and a fire.

 

 

Ben’s shadow. (my fav pic that he took)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eating on the top of the mountain.

 

 

 

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ~”The View was AMAZING Mom!!!”~

  1. Looks like they had a blast. And what a great boy bonding time!

  2. srheam says:

    What an awesome to do together!!  They will remember that all their life!!  WOW

  3. quite a memory making weekend! i have to agree too, that the view is amazing!

Leave a Reply

