~Memories~

I sit here at my computer, sometime in the middle of the night. Trying to think how to put into words today. This past week. But sentences are not coming. Just memories. 

Memories of Eric’s Grandpa. My children’s great Grandpa. He is 92 years old. This last weekend he had a massive stroke that left him paralyzed on the left side of his body. He can’t swallow anymore and the doctors have said it will only be a few more days.
Everyday this week has been agonizing. Our hopes that he would recover have slowly faded. And with that the grief of preparing to lose someone we love so much.
So by lunch today, the children and I all just needed to do something that would distract us for a few hours. They have been very keen to all that is going on. So we loaded up and headed to the river. The sun was shining so bright and warm. As soon as we parked, the children were flying over the grass and hills, down to the river. We played and played. Laughed about silly things. I took lots of pictures. I wanted to remember every smile and joy that filled their little faces. 
Exploring a dead fish.

 

Moving it to dry land.

 

Looking in it’s mouth.

 

 

 

Trying to move a log into the water.

 

Even Julia had fun in the sand.

 

Giving “sand massages”

 

And racing to the water to wash off!

 

 

 

Sand painting each other.

 

 

The sky was incredibly blue.

 

And the sun so bright.

 

 

 

 

I loved the mix of girly and dirt here

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A heart for Mommy!

 

Practicing handsprings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ~Memories~

  1. jmtmpm says:

    so sorry about your husbands’ grandpa…. Beautiful pictures….

  2. seanjoli says:

    Beautiful pictures!! I love the muscle pictures We will pray for your family, I know this is a hard time. Julia is getting so big.

  3. Praying that the Holy Spirit comfort you at this time with the illness of you husband’s grandpa!!!  Love the pictures at the river.  I just took my four oldest to school ( I know that is where we are to be for now and have peace about it) but it was hard when one got out of the car with tears in his little eyes.  He said, “I just want to be with you mom.”  Ugh!  I came home with a sad heart!  I saw your post and seeing you enjoying your beautiful family it brought a smile to my face.  Cherish the gift of having them with you everyday.  I have a homeschooler’s heart but have not had the gift of acting on it yet.  May the Lord be with you today and bless you and your family!! ~ Deborah

  4. maryhurlbut says:

    Looking at your wonderful big family I wondered if you had been to these two xanga sites:http://purpleamethyst76.xanga.com/andhttp://resolved2worship.xanga.com/Both are homeschooling, christian moms of big families that also LOVE to take pictures.

  5. mysweetpeas says:

    @maryhurlbut – Thanks! I found Alyssas’s blog a few years ago. She was a major inspiration to me to start this whole blogging thing! And Shanda found me! It is so encouraging to read other blogs of women that are in the same place that I am. I love your pictures. It makes me miss Loma Linda and So Cal so much!!!

Leave a Reply

