God is LIGHT and in Him there is NO darkness.

Sometimes life seems so good. All of are friends seem to have great marriages. We are all working hard to raise up Godly children. We go to church.  We feel blessed and well, I think sheltered. We forgot how hard the enemy is working to destroy. We get to comfortable in our life.

And then we get a phone call. Or a friend comes over and says they need to talk. Or the preacher gives a sermon that makes your heart sink because of the sin that has erupted in the church. And all of a sudden you realize how close the darkness is. How close the enemy has come to destroying. Or, even worse, that he has succeeded. Destroyed. He has tore apart a marriage, a family. Children are left broken and confused. What they knew as love, is now full of hurt and heartache. The spouse has had ever trace of trust and love taken from them and is now left with a life that they have to slowly piece back together.

This week has been one of those weeks. The phone call. The darkness revealed. And oh, how horrid and ugly and heartbreaking is the darkness. I have cried. I have grieved. I have realized how sheltered I have become. To think that it could have happened to my family. That is could happen to my family. And I have hit my knees. Hard. Real hard. Praying for our friends. Praying for my husband. Praying for my children. Praying for me.

And last night, while I was listening to an amazing woman teaching from the word, she read this verse from 1 John 1:5

“This is the message we have heard from Him and announce to you, that God is Light and in Him there is no darkness at all.”  (1 John 1:5)

It spoke volumes to my heart. I have heard this verse so many times. But last night, when I could not sleep, I pondered what she had read. 

“God is Light and in Him there is no darkness.”

Oh, to be in the Light. To not have any Darkness.  That is what my soul longs for. 

I opened my bible and read the next five verses.

“If we say that we have fellowship with Him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth; but if we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin. If we say that we have no sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar and His word is not in us.” 

It is so easy to believe lies. It’s easy to justify our sin. To point our finger at someone else. 

It’s easy to walk straight into the darkness and not even realize that we are on the path to destruction. 

Today my heart cries out~”Lord, please help me to bask in your light. Help me to run far and fast from the darkness. Protect my family from the darkness. Thank you for the blood of Jesus that has cleansed my sins.  Help me to be a light to every person in my life. Please let them see the light in my life and let them turn away from the darkness. Lord, that we would all have fellowship with one another in your Light.”

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to God is LIGHT and in Him there is NO darkness.

  1. srheam says:

    Thank you for this post.  There are a lot of hurting, lost people out there and sometimes I think I bask in the light and don’t reach out into the darkness to rescue another.  Please help me Lord to not hoard the light, but to SHARE it.  Satan is running rampant.  He knows his time is short to build his kingdom.Great, great thoughts.  Thank you for sharing.  Those verses touched me today.  The challenge!!

  2. YES and AMEN to all you said!!!  ~Deborah

  3. Ali says:

    Amen! SEriously, it is so scary how hard Satan works to destroy good people, good marriages, good families. It’s a good reminder that no one is immune to those tempations. Thanks for your post.

  4. Oh I do hope to visit some day! What a great place to work!Your website is very good!I like your blog. More details: http://www.nike2us.com/

  5. coach outlet says:

    I agree with you . In it something is. Now all became clear, I thank for the help and I hope to see more such articles.More details: http://www.coach7stores.com/

Leave a Reply

