~chasing chickens~

We bought baby chicks a few months ago. And now they are big chickens. And because Eric has not had time to fence off our property, he made a “temporary” chicken cage. But, we have 35 chickens.  Eric had thought more would die as babies. But they all lived. They have surived the children holding them. Even Gabe. And then there’s Josh..

I was walking with him back to the chicken cage and he asked me if I had seen “Chicken Fly”. I asked him if he meant “Chicken Run”? “Nope,” he replied, I mean  “Chicken Fly.” At about that time we were back by their cage. Josh hopped over the fence, grabbed a chicken and threw it up in the air, as high as he could, while screaming “CHICKEN FLY!!!”

At that point I screamed too. The poor chicken. Every chicken was balking and squawking as if to say, “Not Me!! Not Me!! Choose her!!” I explaing to Josh that this was a bad idea and that he could hurt the chickens when he threw them. No more Chicken Fly.

Back to today. I have been feeling awful that these chickens are all caged up. they have eaten every piece of grass, so they just have dirt to run around in. So in the morning, I asked Ben to go open the door to their cage and let them roam free for awhile. Then we can call them “free range chickens” Just kidding. Around 2:00pm, I realized that I need to make sure all the chickens were in their cage because it would be dark when we got home that evening. 

One hour later, and with the help of the three boys, we had all the chickens in their cage. Oh, how I wished I had never let them out. I tried catching them, bribing them with grains, corralling them. I even let the dog try to chase them. It was awful. It has been raining alot here. So everything was mud. I slipped and fell more than once. I scratched my hands up with the blackberry bushes. I accidentally got into the poison oak. I was thinking really bad thoughts about those chickens. Like how I didn’t care anymore if they got gobbled up by some animal in the middle of the night. Or how maybe a shotgun would solve my problem. I even had mud caked under my fingernails. My pink and black rain boots were covered in chicken poop and mud. 

And then finally, we had all 35 chickens accounted for. Locked up safe and sound in their chicken cage. I then raced back to the house in my rain boots, and told all the children to get in the car. We were already going to be late for practice. And all of a sudden, as Josh raced back into the house and past me for the third time, I realized that trying to get all seven of my children into the car took as much skill and determination as trying to catch all 35 of those chickens. Each child has to at least once run back in the house because they forgot something. Or need to go to the bathroom. Or they are thirsty.  And I say “GO!! Get in the car now!! We are late!!” And then the next one comes running in and I say the very same thing again. Over and over, until every child is in the car with their seatbelt on. And we are driving.

Sometimes when I dump my pictures on my camera, there are pictures that show up that I did not take. I try to encourage the children to be creative with photography, so here are their pictures. Not sure who took what. winky

 


 

 

 

 

 

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ~chasing chickens~

  1. You had quite an adventure with your chickens and your children’s pictures are adorable!!

  2. You’re sure living the life, aren’t you?  LOL  If you need to go someplace earlier and don’t want to leave them out and unprotected you are right it is quite crazy gathering those nervous girls up.My boys let the chickens fly, too.I thought some of my chicks would die when we first got them, too.  Only one did and that was b/c someone stepped on it.  Do you have any roosters?  If not, you will get 35 eggs a day soon so perhaps you can sell them and give them away?  Tasha Tudor used to bury her extras.  LOL 

  3. I forgot to say; great pics!  Made me smile knowing the kids took them.  SO cute!

  4. srheam says:

    I think all boys are going to make chickens fly.  I remember my son telling me that his cousin’s chickens could fly.  He said he threw them up and they did =).I totally hear you about getting all the children into the car…I refer to it as herding cats…Hee HEe.I enjoy your posts.  Real motherhood, struggles, triumphs.  It blesses me.  Thanks.

  5. JsSteph7 says:

    Wow! What an adventurous day for you! I’m sure you were ready for a nice warm bath after all that. I don’t know much about chickens but they sure sound fun. : ) Your kids are always so cute. : )

  6. As soon as you said you were going to let them all out, my first thought was “How is she going to get them all in again?” Well, you answered my question. What a funny story that will be to tell. Hope you heal up and clean up from your ordeal. šŸ™‚ I love all that land you have! Just a little bit jealous actually. šŸ™‚

  7. That gave me a laugh!  We had chickens for a very short time when I was a kid.  Horses, dogs, and cats my father liked, but not the chickens.  LOL!  I told my husband the other day I want chickens, but I don’t think we live in the right location.  The neighbors might not like that.  Great pics!  Thanks for the fun post.  Blessings! ~Deborah

Leave a Reply

