~Sausage, Bulbs, and Snow..a very random post~

It’s been too long since my last post. Mostly because I just don’t find enough time in the day to get everything done AND then post it. I just downloaded a few weeks worth of pictures from my camera. It’s always fun to look at what has happened and been captured on the camera. Eric took the three older boys hunting and came home with a deer which they turned into different types of sausage. The girls, Gabe, and I went to Grandma’s house to just spend time with her. We had a girls night and got our nails done and went out for dinner. We quilted and drank tea and just visited. It was a special time that I am glad I was able to do.

I got to thinking about this house. Our dreams for it is a total remodel. HUGE. Move walls, change the kitchen to the opposite side of the house, add more garage bays, a hallway upstairs…but that requires saving alot of money before we can start. Which I am fine with. The last thing I want to do is start something that we can’t finish. So as I look at each of these rooms, there is nothing I like about them. Most have never even been painted and what has been done is just plain awful. My original mindset was just bear the ugliness until we can remodel. But then I have really been struggling with contentment. All I can think about is how much I will really love this house someday and how much I really don’t like it at all right now. Then I realized how foolish I was. With a little, ok-maybe a lot, of paint and some hard work shopping craigslist and garage sales, I can make this house a home right now. And if the day never comes that we get to remodel this house, well that’s just ok with me. I am going to love it right now because this is what I have. So…I have a number of projects in the works right now. The nursery, a stairwell, and the kitchen. As I was painting the walls in there, I kept looking at the awfully stained cabinets. And then, all of a sudden, I thought “Wow, those would look really good if I painted them black and distressed them!” But Eric is never really excited about me painting over solid wood anything. So I called him and asked what he thought about black cabinets. He said “Sure, honey. I think that’s a great idea!” So before he even got home that day, I had the boys sanding down the cabinets and getting ready for me to paint them. I still have a lot left to do, but every day it’s looking better.

We found a bunch of clearanced light fixtures at Lowes, so those will replace the hall lights. None of which match. And I have had alot of fun finding great deals at the construction resale store. Oh, and Joann’s Fabric had a great sale on their clearanced fabric, so I have plenty of fabric to make window coverings now. Just need to find time to sit down and design and sew them. winky

I love bulbs. Why? Because of the beautiful bouquets that I can cut in the spring and fill my house up with and give away to friends. Now I have never planted bulbs for a couple of reasons. But mostly because we would always be moving again and so planting something that I had to leave behind seemed like a waste of money. But then this fall Costco had bulbs. So I bought some. Then a few weeks later they clearanced them. So I bought a lot more. And without even realizing it, I had 1400 bulbs that needed to be planted this winter. Oops!shocked  So Eric and I spent a few hours this weekend planning where we would plant these bulbs so that they don’t rot. And, so that I will have thousands of flowers to cut next summer!! But I’m thinking that I went a little overboard because I waited for so many years to plant bulbs!

We awoke to snow this morning. The boys didn’t even eat breakfast. They threw on whatever snow clothes they could find, since we seem to be missing a tub, and headed out to the hill on the side of our house. A ramp was quickly assembled and they were soon flying down the hill, hitting the ramp, and sailing through the air. They played all morning till the snow was melted.  Then they came in, did their schoolwork and headed back out this evening when it started snowing again. I always think it looks so beautiful when it snows. So clean and pretty. But I do hate being cold. So I’m not outside that much when it gets so cold.   

 

 

Gabe wanted to sleep in his “Fort” today for nap time. Looks like he fell asleep watching it snow!

 

 

Julia does this funny little thing where she lifts her legs and arms. It looks she is free falling from a plane!

I laugh every time she does it, so now she looks at me, makes eye contact and does it!!

 

Early in the morning..

 

The sausage smoking that Eric and the boys made from their deer.

And it tastes so good!

 

 

Shopping with sister.

 

Tired of Jumping.

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ~Sausage, Bulbs, and Snow..a very random post~

  1. Oh my word, I love your baby!  She’s so cute!!!!  She’s got really strong back muscles to do her airplane move.  And she’s being pushed around in a shopping cart?  Too cute.  And falling sound asleep in her bouncer…love that sweet sleeping face.You, my dear, are amazing.  I’m so inspired by you and your determination to feather your nest for NOW.  I totally agree with your thoughts on that.  I’m sure your projects will be beautiful!

  2. jmtmpm says:

    That saugage looks yummy! My husband is always trying to make smokers that work. That looks like the real thing. Beautiful children!

  3. bloggerpaul says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of remodel. If you ever need any help, I’d love to, once I get back to Oregon.I can’t believe it! Oregon beat Michigan to the snow this year! The most we’ve had is a good frost in the night. Just out of curiosity, how did you pick black for your cabinets? And what’s ‘distressed’ look like?That is a LOT of bulbs. Do you have to dig a hole for each one?Did the boys pull any “Calvin’s” in the snow?Julia looks so cute! I think she’s working out her mussels.

  4. srheam says:

    I love when babies do that “free fall” thing.  Wow, wish my abs could tolerate it…=).

  5. The_Carpers says:

    the house is gorgeous from the outside … whats that saying… “bloom where you are planted”! Way to go on the “blooming”!

  6. mysweetpeas says:

    @bloggerpaul – Paul~I’ll take your help anytime! I’m sure when we start digging into this house, there will be lots to do. To distress something is to paint it and then just barely sand the edges so it looks old and worn. kind of like making it look like an antique. It’s a really popular style right now. Kind of a French Chalet look. I’ll post pics as soon as I get it finished. And I picked black because it would best match the rest of the kitchen. It will all look good. I promise. No gothic or dark kitchen. The walls are a khaki and the trim is bright white. The floor is sand colored tiles. The room is big enough to absorb the black color and not be too much black.

  7. Your house looks like it is straight out of a fairy tale! The pic of your baby girl on her belly is so cute and the last one just made me laugh! How stinkin adorable!

  8. I really liked your blog article.There should be something you like:http://www.nike2us.com/

Leave a Reply

