I think I’m going to buy a pig…

I rarely post about controversial topics on here, but I have one thing that drives me crazy. Dogs in stores. First, I want to state that we have a dog. We love her. We play with her and she is part of our family…in an animal sort of way. But she is NOT one of my children. She has to sleep outside, eat dog food, and we don’t buckle her in when she goes with us in the car. 

Now I understand that some people have very special bonds with their dogs. Much deeper than I have with ours. Their dog sleeps in their bed, spends most of the day with them and has special privileges that my dog does not have. I understand this. I don’t get it, but I do understand this.

But I feel like somewhere over the last couple of years, dogs (in public places) have been allowed to do things that is totally unacceptable of a child. For instance, many a time I have been in a parking lot and watched a dog owner let their dog out of the car to use the bathroom in the beautifully landscaped area. Now if I let one of my boys, who quite often need to use the bathroom and usually give me only a few minute warning, out to pee on a tree in a parking lot, I would get ugly looks and rude comments. Even if it was a 5 year old who’s bladder forgets it’s full until the very last minuet. And heaven forbid if they were to poop by a bush. 

Then there is the whole issue of dogs in a store. I have many times had my children in a store and a dog, not on a leash comes running over to my children. Now first let’s look at the safety of this. I don’t know this dog. This dog does not know my children. What if one of my children provokes this dog and the dog were to respond with biting my child. The owner is nowhere to be seen. Shopping in some isle. With no contorl over the dog. Which comes to my bigger issue…

I have seven children. We work hard raising our children to be polite, well behaved socially acceptable children. And even with all that said, I still have people who are rude to me. People who are in disbelief that one husband and wife could do such a wretched thing as have seven children. That I have personally overpopulated the earth. And yet my children are not peeing in the parking lots, running and jumping on other shoppers legs or other children or eating trash out of a trash can. 

And somehow, in todays society, it has become more acceptable to allow dogs just about every where people go then to just smile at a big family and maybe say an encouraging word. 

So I was thinking, if I got a pig and treated it like a dog, how would people respond. Could I let it poop in parking lots? Carry it in the store and let it run up and down isles? Would the bank give me a pig treat for my dog? Would everybody stop and tell me how cute my pig was? I think not.

 

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I think I’m going to buy a pig…

  1. JsSteph7 says:

    LOL I am so with you on this!! Thankfully here there are leash laws, and I do understand service dogs, but I think it would be much more convenient to let the kids go potty in public. Maybe one day it will be socially acceptable. lol Oh, and WHY is it that kids don’t realize their bladder is full til the last minute?! Why is it all of a sudden so urgent?! Drives me crazy.

  2. I’ve had those same thoughts.  As a Mom, I get the feeling often that dogs are more tolerated than children.  There is an outdoor shopping center nearby and it is “dog friendly”, with bowls of water for the dogs outside some of the stores, dogs can go into ANY of the stores, there is a specialty dog store (no toy store), and other things just for dogs.  What a better world it would be if they replaced those things with thoughtfulness for children!  Not that there’s anything wrong with being a dog lover—-

  3. Your blog is very interesting, I will continue to keep track of your other blog, trouble pasting my website: http://www.nike2us.com/

  4. Christina says:

    Here is a link for petite pigs. If your going to get one you want it to look cute, right? http://www.petitepiggies.com/

Leave a Reply

