~A peek at my kitchen progress~

I have been slowly working away at my kitchen. It is taking me so much longer than I had thought. Isn’t that the way it always goes? Since we have decided to wait to start remodeling, which would incorporate moving the kitchen to the other side of the house, I am just working on making the kitchen a prettier place. Because this is the room that I spend the most time in. And I love looking at the walls and and cabinets, the art and finished touches that makes a room feel warm and inviting.

So the plan for the kitchen is similar to that of the nursery.

1. Repaint cabinets black with leftover paint from nursery and then distress (instead of replacing cabinets)

2. Paint walls (with leftover paint from other rooms downstairs)

3. Paint table, chairs, and bench black (with leftover paint)

4. Paint all trim a bright white (leftover from nursery)

5. Make valances with some fabric I bought on clearance from Joann’s for $1.00/yd.

6. Keep flooring the same. I like the tiles. Except that anything glass breaks when it hits the floor. sad

So far I have painted most of the walls. Painted one wall of cabinets and distressed one section. Painted the bay window trim. Designed the valances and then showed Laura how to sew them. She did great finishing up the job for me. Eric and I painted the table and chairs last weekend. Eric made the table for us before he started dental school. A friend gave us a round table and 4 chairs. The table was too small for our family of 6, so Eric bought a piece of plywood with oak on the top and made a huge oval table that clamped to the small round one. We used this all through dental school. Then at our last house, we used a smaller table in the kitchen and the children ate at the island on benches because there was no room for the table he made in the kitchen. Then in this house, we needed the table again, but no longer had the small round table to attach it to because we left it behind when we moved from California. So he found some old chunks of square wood in the shop and cut up table legs out of them and attached them to the table. The chairs that had come with the table had all fallen apart, so this past summer I picked up a couple of chairs at garage sales for $1.00/chair.  Eric had made the benches a few years ago to fit our growing family around the table. 

I am reupholstering 2 of the chairs. They were dirty and old and gross. I had found a bunch of muslin Pottery Barn pillow and chair covers this fall at a yard sale. I really had no clue what I was going to do with them, but they were 10 cents a cover so I bought them and tossed them in my box of fabric. So when I started digging through to see what I would use for the chairs, that fabric looked perfect. I bought some of the thick plastic to protect the near white fabric on a kitchen chair with 7 children using it to climb on, eat on, and maybe sometimes sit on. silly

Here are a few pictures of the before and the progress so far. My goal is to be finished by the end of March….

BEFORE

Cutting a hole for my fridge. 

 

 

 

Sanding down chairs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a receipt from some Christmas Clearance I bought at Joann’s.

Everything was 90% off and then an additional 15% on top of that.

Spent $20.24 and SAVED $ 192.08.

This is how I decorate for Christmas on a budget!!

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ~A peek at my kitchen progress~

  1. Christina says:

    WOW! I LOVE IT! You are a GREAT shopper. You do such a great job.

  2. francihoyt says:

    Hi, I came across your blog just following some links from other blogs. I really like what you’ve done with your kitchen — it looks great. I love black furniture! Hey, I hate to point this out, but your neat mural has a typo — it says matserpiece instead of masterpiece. :-/

  3. brandi says:

    love the black!…perhaps the misspelling will be a (constant) humbling reminder of human imperfection-?

  4. mysweetpeas says:

    @francihoyt – Thanks for pointing that out…I redid it and it is now spelled right!

  5. mysweetpeas says:

    @brandi – as soon as someone pointed out it was misspelled, I redid it. I can’t believe I missed that. i must have looked at it hundreds of times!

Leave a Reply

