~California Trip ~part 4~ The BALL~

One evening while we were visiting some friends at the park, another family showed up with this GIANT ball. My children were like magnets to this new family. They followed them right over to the top of the hill and watched in great fascination as thier children climbed into the ball and rolled down the hill. We had seen this ball at Costco just the day before and they had all wanted it. So after seeing the ball in action, they all pooled their can money (this is the money they collect from turning in bottles and cans to recycle) together and asked for a trip to Costco to buy this ball. 

And so the next day, as soon as school was finished, we all went into Costco, bought the ball and headed back to the park. The ball came with this little pump that lasted all of about 10 minutes. Then we were left with using our own lungs. Not a big deal right. WRONG! This ball is HUGE!! It took us over an hour of blowing up all the different chambers on it. The children would work on blowing for awhile and then run off and play. Then return again. Finally we finished and they were all ready to roll. I later (like 5 days) read on the side of the box that children should NEVER roll down a hill inside the ball. Opps. But man, did they have fun!

When we finished playing at the park, we packed up our new toy and headed over to Palm Springs to spend the weekend with Eric’s Aunt and Uncle.  We had to deflate the ball to get it in the van. But inflating it back up was much easier. We took it to the country club and used their air compressor. Much better on the lungs!

 

The Ball in the beginning stages.

Still feeling full of energy and oxygen.

Realizing the pump is broken.

Trying to use the pump to blow air in.

Thirsty from all that blowing.

Bored from Blowing…using my nursing shawl as a Super Women Cape

There were the blowers and the observers…

Jules was the fisrt inside as they continued to inflate it. 

The Maiden Voyage. The Boys let Laura go first.

I kept yelling “Be Careful..Only one child in at a time..Please, be careful!!”

Checking out the child that just rolled.

Giving sister a good push.

The crowd we started to draw. Every kid wanted one. 

Little one got into the chips while I was not watching. She loved the crinkle bag. 

Survived the first roll.

Walking the ball back up the hill.

 

I need to remember to read the warning BEFORE sending my children down huge hills!

But even if I had, I’m sure they would have tried to convince they would be just fine.

 

Next playground…Palm Springs

Our Favorite Uncle (I should actually say Great Uncle 🙂

 

 

The light was so pretty on this ornamental grass.

 

Just loved those blue skies and palm trees. 

 

This is how my boys roll…no shoes if they don’t HAVE to. Especially Josh.

 

These girls LOVE to swing!

 

After lots of rolling, it became a club house.

 

Since we were living in our trailer, we did not have any suitcases. So when I went to pack for our trip to PS, 

I just grabbed the dirty laundry baskets and threw them in the car. As soon as I showe up I started

 doing laundry. This is a great way to travel. But then when I was getting ready to leave, I glanced down at all my 

“bags” of clean clothing and laughed. I felt sorta like a “Bag Lady”!

 

 

We spent one morning meeting up with a very dear friend, Auntie Joy.  We were all thrilled

to see her and spend time with her.

~cheryl

part 5 next

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ~California Trip ~part 4~ The BALL~

  1. jmtmpm says:

    what a beautiful trip you had!

  2. srheam says:

    Oh, that ball DOES look like fun!!  Love how you drew the crowd =).  It was quite the attraction. I love, love palm trees.  I am in awe of them every time I visit my husband’s family in Florida.

  3. Ali says:

    Wow, I miss you!!! I can’t believe you went for a month. You are supermom! Seriously, it makes me sad/happy to look at your pictures. Sad because I miss having you right across the dirt path by the field. Happy because you are the same you that I love. Take care. Ali

Leave a Reply

