~Our Easter Party~

 My children have asked a few times when I am going to do a post on our Easter Party. Tonight, I guess! 

There are very few blogs that I read now days. I use to spend a lot more time on my computer, but have found that my house becomes utter chaos when I sit down and engage myself in front of my computer. School stops, chores don’t get down and most importantly to my children, meals end up being late. I am not consistent in my parenting when I am trying to focus on reading or typing or editing and because of that I get very frustrated with children who just really need me to give them my full attention. Which is completely unfair to them. With all that said, I do once in a while, after all the children are in bed, sit down and read my favorite blogs. I choose ones that encourage and uplift me. That I can relate my crazy life to. I also like to read ones that my children can read over my shoulder if they are around. They love to look at pictures of other families with lots of children just like us, doing the same sort of things that they love to do. 

This brings me to tonight’s post. We have been working on the downstairs bathroom. We pretty much gutted it and tonight we began the process of putting everything back together, from the floor up. I finished peeling wall paper off and cleaning up the mess and now I am sitting here with Eric while he works on some floor stuff. We are going to tile and I am so excited. But all that remodel stuff is for another post on another day! 

A few months ago, I was reading resolved2worship blog, and was inspired to have an Easter Party for my children. I loved how she was so creative in her decorating, not spending much money at all for their party. For the past few years I have thought that I wanted to do something extra special at Easter, but always have so much going on (moving, graduation…) that I never got any further in my thoughts. So after reading resolved2worhship’s blog on her party, I started brainstorming for a special party for my children. My children LOVE parties. We don’t do big birthday parties. Nope, just family parties. Mostly because I don’t ever feel like I have enough energy to pull one off that would be what the birthday child would dream off. Times seven. Just does not happen. But they sometimes ask for a party. 

So I went to each one individually and personally invited them to come to our Easter Party. They were each thrilled. It became the topic of just about every conversation. They had so many questions and ideas. It was really fun to hear what everyone was thinking. I waited until two days before the party to make all our decorations. Mostly because that is just how it worked with our schedules this year. Maybe next year I will be a little more on top of things and get a head start on the planning! I went through all my craft/sewing stuff and pulled out anything I could find that was shades of white. I picked white as our theme, because really, that is what Easter is all about. Jesus died for our sins and we are washed, white as snow. The children were so creative! I put glue, glitter spray, stamps, feathers, scissors, and string on the table. I gave them fabric, tissue paper, tulle, and card stock. And the decorating began! We spent all day making different things. Each child was so fun to watch as they got more and more excited about the party. 

As each creation was finished, it was brought downstairs and placed in the party room. I choose one of the front rooms mostly because it is pretty much empty and yet small enough that it gave us a cozy atmosphere. I would have loved to have been outside, but the weather here is so unpredictable and we still have too much rain to count on a nice day for an outside party. We had planned our menu earlier in the week and done our shopping the day before. We chose Good Friday, because Eric would be home that day and we all wanted to have him around. After we finished all our decorating, I would see a child just walk into the room and stand and stare at everything. A huge smile across their face.

The morning of our party was beautiful. The sun did choose to shine for a few hours. It cast beautiful rays of sunshine though the windows onto our little party. I originally had thought we would start around 11:00 am, but by 6:00 that morning I realized that it would just be pure torture to make them wait that long. So by 8:00 am, our party was in full swing! 

The children took alot of these pictures. It is always fun to see what they see when their eyes are behind the camera!!

 

Let the decorating began!

 

It was Ben’s idea to use toilet paper as streams. He hung a whole roll!

 

And the party begins!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~Our Easter Party~

  1. Christina Morse says:

    SOOO cute. The party looks so fun.

  2. Raluca says:

    Wonderful! Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

