~Part 6~ Downtown LA

I was looking back at some pictures of our trip to So Cal this winter and realized that I never posted my 6th and last post. Oops! So a little 

 (or a lot!) late post here…

~Part 6~ Downtown LA~

While we lived down there, I got introduced to shopping in downtown LA in the Fabric/Fashion District by one of my special girlfriends, Larissa. We were both starting small businesses and she was the one who found this place and invited me to come along on one of her shopping trips. And I loved the whole experience! It takes us about an hour from the time we meet (figuring in traffic) to get down there. The streets are lined with shops of every type of textiles you can imagine. Bolts of cloth, supplies, foam for upholstery, anything you could possible need to make or create something was right at your finger tips! And at wholesale prices! A few of the stores have set prices, but most you bargain for the best price. This is personally my favorite way to shop. I fell in love with arguing over a price of an item when we lived in Kenya and again in Gernada. But here in America, this style of shopping is not very favored. You pay the price on the tag. No other option. But not here in downtown LA. Which is probly one of my favorite reasons to shop here. That and the countless choices of everything! I bought bolts of fabric at amazing prices! 

Larissa and I would comb through the stores touching and looking at all the different fabrics. Bouncing ideas off each other. Encouraging each other with new ideas. The time was always special because we did not take any of our children with, so lots of good heart talks too!!

I asked her when I saw her the first weekend of our trip back this winter if she could make a “LA Run” with me. She said yes and I was thrilled. I asked another one of my girlfriends if she would watch the 6 older children (along with her 6) and she very graciously said yes. Thank you Jamie, you blessed me that day! So Larissa, Julia and I spent the whole day shopping. And it happened to be my birthday…which made it a great day!

 

 

 

Notice the women pushing a cart with mannequin legs sticking out of it!

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ~Part 6~ Downtown LA

  1. The_Carpers says:

    That must have been like Heaven here on earth! Looks devine!

Leave a Reply

