~Ride ’em Cowboy!~

We spent the 4th of July at the Rodeo. Our boys were cRaZy excited because they were entered in the calf riding for their first time. I was cRaZy worried and exicted for them at the same time. To me, I can’t imagine ever wanting to climb up on a bucking calf just to see how many seconds I could hold on for dear life, just to be thrown to the ground like some horrible wrestling move. But my boys…now they are wired so different. It is just about all they have talked, dreamed, and planned for since the last Rodeo. And because I want them to live life with a passion, and that passion currently is calf riding, I signed them up.

Grandpa Luke and Grandma Beth flew out special for this weekend. Not only did we have the Rodeo, Julia, Laura, and Eric all had birthdays to celebrate. I love having them visit. They fly all the way from NC, and we just have the best of times when they are with us. They fill an aching void that has existed in our life for so many years. Having them here bless me so much. Beth reads to the children while I make dinner. So instead of everybody in the kitchen asking for the hundredth time when dinner will be done, I cook in total solitude. And they all snuggle up on the couch and listen to Grandma read. I think everyone of us loves it! winky And when we go out, that gives us 4 extra hands in holding and herding children. We keep trying to convince them they should make a permanent trip out here!!

About 5 days before the rodeo, I woke up in the middle of the night and panicked. I could just see the boys being stomped on by these rather large calfs. I remembered seeing kids in catchers helmets and body/chest vests. I determined to buy these items first thing in the morning. Finding the vest proved to be a challenge. No local store carried them. So I combed the internet until I found one in Maine. These are the vests that a child would wear when riding a horse, so if thrown and stepped on, the damage would be minimal. With expedited shipping, I was guaranteed it would arrive in time for the Rodeo. Next was the helmet. Much easier. The local sporting goods store had them.  After securing these items, I felt like as a mother, I had done my best in trying to protect them from any injuries they might get. Eric laughed at me and asked if I was over reacting. Maybe. But I wasn’t the only mother that had those same thoughts.   Alot of those boys were wearing helmets and vests. So were the men.silly 

Ben and Michael had a blast riding the calf. They were thrown hard. But never shed a tear. We have some tough cowboys around here. 😉 I have a video, if I can figure out how to post it, I will put it on here. The rest of the Rodeo was super fun. We saw bull riding, calf tying, bronco riding, barrel racing. The weather was perfect… hot with a breeze. There was shade over the bleachers, so we were very comfortable.

On the way home we saw a camel. Normally, we would have just pointed it out and gone on. But we stopped. Gabe had spent the last few days telling us that he had lost his camel. Now I have no idea where he created this lost animal. I can’t remember any book that we read or event that we attended that would have pointed his imagination this way. But for days, he had stood on our front porch every few hours and hollered for his camel. “CAMEL, where are you??? CAAAMMMEL, come home!!” Then he would come find me and tell me that his camel was not listening to him. We would go outside and look across the canyon to the other side and he would point and say “I SEE HIM!” And them more hollering to beckon his camel home. We put out water, a bowl of fruit snacks, but still no camel. So what are the odds, that we would find a camel on the side of the road giving camel rides??? Maybe because we serve a God who is so big and cares so much for each one of us, that he wanted to delight our little Gabe with a camel ride. Upon seeing the camel, Gabe immediately claimed it as his missing camel. Grandpa got out with Gabe and got him up on that camel. And Gabe rode like a king up there. We were all so thrilled for him. Other than the wildlife park, I don’t think I have ever seen a camel in this state. After riding, Gabe told us his camel was going to stay there. We talked about how it would live in it’s barn and maybe we could see him next year. He agreed and has not looked for his camel since.  I love the imagination of my children. They are playing rodeo as I type this. The older boys have a belt buckle strapped around their chest. They all have there “cowboy” /western shirts on. The little ones are making sheep and calf sounds. They have shoots set up and an announcer. And belt buckles for the winners. They make me smile.

 

Packing into the rodeo

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Nana and Jules

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Ben on his calf

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Michael on his calf

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

one too many rodeos. 😉

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Josh in his cowboy gear

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Grandpa Luke and Gabe

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Jules slept right through the screaming and cheering!!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

my cowgirl hat. found it at the thrift store and added the feather and flower

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Eric and his parents

Photobucket

Photobucket

our friends

Photobucket

Photobucket

  Grandpa Luke and Jules

 Photobucket

The Littlest Spurs ever!!
Photobucket

Two happy Grandpas!
Photobucket

Getting Maryann ready for the Mutton Bustin.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Gabe’s favorite place to be…Grandpa Luke’s arms

Photobucket

Photobucket

Josh in his cowboy chaps

Photobucket

Rodeo Queen

Photobucket

Bronco bustin

Photobucket

Beth brought her new camera and got some awesome shots. this horse is hers.

Photobucket

calf tying
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

look at this cows expression. Priceless.

Photobucket

Barrel racing

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Maryann’s belt from her last rodeo

Photobucket

Our best friends

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Gabe’s camel

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~Ride ’em Cowboy!~

  1. SpazzyMommy says:

    Awesome pictures!! I love the way you dressed all the family alike! Please explain the camel…was it at the rodeo too?? Your baby is sooooo CuTe!!!! 🙂 ❤ Nothing like a chunky little one to love on. 🙂

  2. mysweetpeas says:

    @SpazzyMommy – The 5th paragraph at the beginning of the post is the “camel story”. Thanks for your your sweet word! :)’

Leave a Reply

