~embracing the now~

I am sitting here on my front porch watching my children on their water slide. They took a few of Eric’s tarps and put them on the hill. Then they got the Dawn dishwashing soap and poured half a bottle on the tarp and watered it down. This is after they patiently waited a few hours for our water to be turned back on. We are having to get some work done on the main line today and so, no water for awhile. But water back on, soap suds everywhere, and the hottest day of the summer so far (I think)…like 90 degrees, they are all having a blast. Our dog, who hates getting wet is nowhere in site. Oh, and my house is clean…for a few minuets. winky

So I have been thinking the last few months, how much my life has changed since living in Southern California. Or the Caribbean. Or Kenya. Or growing up in North Carolina.  And I wanted to write it down. Just so that if we move again someday, I can come back here and read what my life was like in this small town in Oregon.

The phase “going to town” is now a regular part of my vocabulary.

I have 32 chickens.

We have no Target, department stores, or good restaurants. 

I own a pair of alligator skin cowgirl boots.

It rains here. ALOT.

I have learned how much I HATE poison oak.

I went to my first, second, and third rodeo in a matter of a few weeks. 

My husband has 11 bee hives. The honey is delicious.

The summers are lovely. Not too hot.

After being married 12 years, we bought our first house.

We have a dog. A first for me.

My boys all want to ride a bull when they grow up.

My husband has a job. (compared to being in school for 10 years)

When my little ones run, they slap their legs as if they were riding a horse.

We have a septic tank. (If you have always been on city sewer, there’s a few things ya need to learn.)

Everyone of us owns a pair of cowboy/girl boots.

We live in a community that loves and supports all our veterans. And our country for that matter.

I know now how to defend myself and my children with an armed weapon if a bear or cougar shows up at my house.

Most people shopping at this WalMart wear their pajamas. I do not. 

I can clip a chickens feathers, run a weed eater, and stack wood. (these are all new learned chores for me)

I watched a deer that my husband shot and brought home be turned into pepperoni and summer sausage by Eric and the boys.

I can keep a wood stove burning. All winter. This is a huge accomplishment. (And not burn down the house!) 

I have camped more this summer than in my whole life. 

 

Well, I have this handsome man showing up soon to take me out on a date and I need to go put on a pretty dress and fix my hair. Signing off for today.

 

 

 Moments at the fair this year.

 Photobucket

getting hooked by the national guard. Boys and guns. Need I say more? 🙂
Photobucket

Mechanical bull riding. The absolute favorite ride.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Gabe’s first try at mutton bustin.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Josh’s turn.

Photobucket

Photobucket

She spent the whole night eating this sucker.

Photobucket

Sheep tying.
Photobucket

Brother tying. 

Photobucket

Photobucket

Watching her brothers ride the sheep.

Photobucket

Cotton candy.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

my favorite outfit of the night.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

No hands!

Photobucket

One week old piglets.

Photobucket

Photobucket

the 4-H / FFA steer and pig auction. 

Photobucket

Friends.

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ~embracing the now~

  1. The_Carpers says:

    I had to wonder just for a minute (or until I could go back and read) if you are my new neighbors! Life in the country is wonderful … I hope I NEVER have to go back to city dwelling! Enjoy this time of your life~

  2. wow…you have lived a lot of different places! love this list of things…sitting down to recall and write somehow always makes me grateful.

  3. bloggerpaul says:

    There sure are a lot of things to be learned when one makes the move from city slicker to country bumpkin (or something in between), though I must admit that I’ve lived in the country for just over 11 years, and I’ve only been to one rodeo.How long did Gabe stay on the Sheep? He looks like he’s just about to fall off in the last picture.

Leave a Reply

