~rocks, water, & gold~

If there is one thing that my children love, it is playing in the water. The river, lake, beach, creek…they don’t care. Just please get them to the water. We had appointments for everyone to get teeth cleanings this afternoon, and I had promised that when we left the office, we would go to their absolute favorite swimming spot. I think that we all have this little bit of panic feeling. The last few days have been in the mid 70’s and felt like fall. So with fall just around the corner, so comes an end to our summer days of playing in the water. Aside from that, Ben got a gold panning pan from his Papa, and has been anxious to use it. He has daydreamed of hitting a “Glory Day” (a gold run) and needed to get out there so he could find it. 

With teeth all cleaned, we headed up the hill to the creek. There are so many different things for them to do. It’s not very deep, with the exception of two swimming holes. So the little ones can play pretty safely along the shore. There are tons of rocks. So throwing rocks in the water is a favorite activity. Sometimes we build up little dams to reroute the water at the little water falls. The children explore all over the creek and the edge of the woods. All sorts of different treasures are brought back to me. We rarely have to share our special little spot with anybody else. It’s a little remote, so I don’t think alot of people even know about it. 

I rarely bring my camera along. Children, water, rocks, and cameras do not make a good combination. But today, since it was so much later in the day, I decided I was not going swimming. (I am a wimp. I hate being cold, and the water IS cold.) So here is a small glimpse of our afternoon and how we roll….

 

 Playing in the river

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

not to be out done by her brothers.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The gold pan

 Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Jules loves the rocks.

Photobucket

jump shots

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Josh's treasures

Forgot his swimsuit

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Gold panning

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~rocks, water, & gold~

  1. redladybug18 says:

    Being at the river is so much fun! I rarely get to take pictures while I’m down there with friends because I’d rather be in it living it than capturing the moment 🙂

  2. bloggerpaul says:

    Hey! Michael and I have the same swim suits! You didn’t happen to get that at wal mart did you?I like the first picture of Ben (I know all they’re names in order now!!!!) jumping off the rock. He’s looking at the camera like “Uh oh, she saw me”.

Leave a Reply

