~Disappointments turned into a Grand Adventure~

Spent another afternoon by the water. There were other, much bigger plans for the day. But Eric got so sick we had to cancel and come up with plan B. The children and I threw some snacks and drinks in the cooler and drove out of town, up the mountain. Away, looking for a place we had been last year. We never did find it. But we did find a spot so much better. Always amazes me how God can take a day that seems like it is falling apart every which way you trun your head and make it such a special wonderful afternoon! 

Often the rivers around us are fast moving, cold and have deep chasms down the center. This is ok for the older ones with a life jacket, but not at all for the little ones. But then the places where the little ones are safe, the older ones are bored. So that is always the challenge. Find a place where everybody is happy and entertained. And that was exactly what this place was. It had a shallow sand entrance into the water. Trees everywhere to collect sticks and treasures. Rocks for climbing and jumping. And deep spots out in the middle for the big boys to get in some jumps and fishing.  I didn’t have to make everybody where life jackets. Or do constant head counts.  A few times the boys would head further into the woods then I wanted them to. The rule is always be with in hollering distance. Now I guess that leaves a lot of room for interpretation doesn’t it??winky

Laura brought her paints and canvas. She was more sad and disappointed than the others over the canceled afternoon activities. I was so encouraged to see her sit down and paint. She is an amazing artist. So creative and talented.

We played for hours. Forts were built. Battles were fought and conquered. Sand meals created and served. Piles of treasures unearthed and collected. Not to much swimming though. The water was so cold and it was late enough the sun was not directly on us for very long. Here are some of my favorite moments of the day! 

 

 Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

She is our little snacker!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Showing us how deep the water is.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Collecting sticks to bring home.
Photobucket

Indian warpaint! 

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Wooly bear catipillar
Photobucket

Wild snap dragons

Photobucket

Exploring the other side of the creek.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The only “posed” photo of the day!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Belly laughing!

Photobucket

I cut off the head here to protect the innocent…but I can’t help but laugh…

Photobucket

The boys teach them young to sword fight around here.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

Making dinner.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

Fishing
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

The wretched poison oak I so hate.

Photobucket

 

The favorite rock of the day.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ~Disappointments turned into a Grand Adventure~

  1. bloggerpaul says:

    Ooo that water looks cold!I love Julia’s face. What made her laugh so hard?

Leave a Reply

