~lost bAbY~

Today Julia disapperead. Literally. She had been on the front porch, playing with a truck, and I went inside to check on another child. A few minutes later, I looked out the window and she was gone. The door was open, and I thought she had come inside. I asked Maryann where Jules was, and she did not know. My heart rate went up, but just a little. I ran out to the street, which is too close to our house for me to feel she is safe, and looked. Up the hill…no baby. Down the hill…no baby. She must be inside I thought. As I ran back in the house, I asked the children to help me look for her. We checked the whole house and yard and she was no where. I was panicking. Where had she gone. Once, we had a child climb inside the dryer, shut the door and fall asleep. That took a long time to find him. But there was no way she could have curled up and fallen asleep. There had not been enough time. As I started thinking about calling 911 and Eric, that maybe she had been kidnapped right off my front porch, I heard Maryann say “MOM, I FOUND HER!!”She was outside, and with tears in my eyes I raced out the front door.

Julia was sitting underneath the house. Under our front porch, there is an opening that goes under the house to the crawlspace. She was far enough back that you could only see her if you stuck your head in there. And what was she doing, quietly eating a bag of chocolate covered pretzels that she had found left on the porch from the older children that morning. She just giggled when I stuck my head under the house. She is so smart. She knew if anybody saw her eating that bag of pretzels, they would have taken it away. So she quietly slipped away, out of site, and did not answer while we called for her. No way! The pretzels were far better enjoyed in solitude. Even if it did mean having to eat them underneath the house. 

 On her way out…

 PhotobucketPhotobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ~lost bAbY~

  1. cerwindoris says:

    This is why mothers turn grey!

  2. oh my! i would so have been beside myself. GLAD for a happy ending in this story! and, doggonit. it is so hard to be upset with them sometimes when they are SO cute like she is!!

  3. As a mom, I would have been in a panic too!Now if I were her, I would be afraid of spiders under there. =)She is so adorable! =)

  4. SpazzyMommy says:

    oh goodness!!! I know the sheer terror and panicky feeling you must of had. Glad for a happy ending!

  5. loaine says:

    Oh,I remember that panicky feeling!But too cute,hiding like that to enjoy her treat.    πŸ™‚

  6. JsSteph7 says:

    Oooo! I understand that feeling. My 2 yr old learned how to open the gate and has disappeared down the street twice on me. 😦 NO FUN! Very glad she was found and she is pretty stinkin’ cute, it does make it hard to be upset. πŸ™‚

  7. I hate it when they disappear.  Seth did, today.  Found him in the doghouse, spending time with the dog.  If I had a dollar for every time I got nervous while searching for a child I’d be a rich woman.  LOL  Your baby is one smart *chocolate covered pretzal* (I’ll write that, instead of “cookie”) for hiding with her treats.  SO cute!  If Sarah did that, I’d be floored.  It’s amazing how fast they catch on to things, isn’t it?  LOL

  8. The_Carpers says:

    OH DEAR!!!!! Add another grey hair or two. I feel for you and as I read it my heart rate went up … a LOT! Just a month ago Brodie and Emersyn slipped away and while I frantically searched, here this lady was carrying Emersyn up the steps with Brodie following her. As she was driving by they were getting ready to cross the busy street. I cried … she was so nice … I could hardly go to sleep that night. How do they do it … so stinkin fast!

  9. momofjenmatt says:

    scariest feeling in the world, she’s adorable.

  10. redladybug18 says:

    I just saw your title and thought maybe something bad had happened, so glad that’s not the case though πŸ™‚ She’s such a smart one πŸ™‚ Looks like she’s caught on early and learned how to keep all the good food for herself πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

