One room down…lots to go

I have finally finished another room. I painted shortly after we moved in, but after awhile didn’t like the paint. The challenge with this room was all the doors and walkways. It is in the back corner of the house with a door going outside and a sliding door on to the deck. There is a stairwell and two other hallways leading into the room. And it is a small room. The wood stove is in here. This is the door where all the children run in and out to play. So shoes, boots, coats, and whatever else seem to always collect in here. The wood stove makes it a cozy room. Definitely the warmest room in our house all winter. 

So the challenges were these-

1. Make it a “cozy” spot to sit by the fire, or read a book

2. Organize all the shoes, hats, and stuff that needs to be there

3.  Have a good “flow” to the room with all the doors and hallways

This is what I did…(I’m trying to find the before pictures)

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

PhotobucketSuper cool lights marked down 90% at Home Depot

Photobucket

Photobucket
$15 chair and $5 table from garage sale
PhotobucketAnd my favorite piece of furniture, this organizing system from Costco. Each person has their name stamped on a bin. Socks and shoes are stored in them. A few extra bins for hats, scarfs, flashlights, and a “Lost and Found” for all the stuff left behind when we have a party.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One room down…lots to go

  1. Oh!I like that room — and all he great bargains you found make it so nice!

  2. srheam says:

    Really looks nice.  Isn’t it a challenge to “organize” coats/hats, etc. this time of year?!  The bin idea is great. 

  3. that organizing system from Costco!! wow, that thing is awesome!! love what you’ve done with the space; very cozy and homey looking!

  4. The_Carpers says:

    I would love to have a room like that … and clean and organized just like yours!!!

  5. redladybug18 says:

    Looks awesome and so organized!

  6. bloggerpaul says:

    It looks great! I really like the wall with all of the family pictures and the stars. It give the room such a “Home” feel.

  7. Christina says:

    It looks WONDERFUL in person. 🙂

Leave a Reply

