~update on kitchen remodel~

So here we are. Going into the second week of no kitchen. Lots has happened. After we sat down and talked about our options, we decided that now is the time to do a full kitchen remodel. Not at all what we were planning on doing just 3 weeks ago. Our plates are more than full with so many other projects going on. But seeing how my kitchen is gutted, the cabinets and flooring were destroyed in the clean up process, now seems like the best use of time and money to just do the whole kitchen. But we never do anything simple or easy around here. I think its because we both like the challenge. We love changing everything, and our goal from the first day that we bought this house, was to make it have a “home feeling”. Right now, it just looks like a fraternity house.  Every room has different flooring. Different light fixtures. Different textures on the wall. It’s near pschyo sometimes. So slowly, as we work through each room, we match everything up. Redoing the plaster, matching light fixtures. The flooring is a huge project. 4300 sq ft to redo. We were just getting ready to do the upstairs when the kitchen flooded. So that is sorta put on hold while we draw up plans and attack the kitchen. 

Heres a few pictures of the progress so far. We are taking out the wall that divided the kitchen from the “I’m not sure what room. Kinda like a gigantic foyer with too many doorways to put furniture in it” The boys just love to demo. They have finished tearing up the remaining tiles today. The next big project is tearing out the soffett. And removing the French doors and widening that into a huge arch. But that requires permits since its a load bearing wall. See, all this new stuff I am learning?? I love it! 

Oh, and one last thing…a HUGE thank you to all the care and concern everybody had with my second to last post. I was blessed many times over with all of the help and meals that were offered. I never once even thought about the response we would receive from a journal entry on a blog post. After the initial shock wore off, and things calmed down a bit, this new challenge already seems somewhat normal. Ha! I don’t mind washing dishes on the back porch anymore. I have these great little helpers. And Eric got our trailer out of storage and set it up by the house for me. (in the dark and the rain after a long work day…he ROCKS!!) So I actually have a full functioning kitchen minus a dishwasher. So I don’t have a thing to complain about! In fact, a long list of what I am thankful for!

 Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~update on kitchen remodel~

  1. bloggerpaul says:

    Wow! That sure is going to open the ‘confused’ room up a bit! Are you pulling the carpet out of the rest of the downstairs as well, or just the ‘confused’ room? What will you put in it’s place?Paul

  2. grace_to_be says:

    it’s going to look so good when it’s done.. and so glad you’re surrounded by people who are stepping up to help you guys!!

Leave a Reply

