~Catching up~

I’m sitting here in a hotel in Southern California. The last few weeks have been a whirlwind. I’m going to try and catch up here. Seven children are all tucked into beds, corners, and chairs. And it sounds like the sick ward at the hospital. Coughing and sniffles. So far the count is five out of seven are down with an awful cold. One that keeps them up all night coughing.  Thats a lot of coughing for this tired Momma. We left Thurs evening and got here Friday afternoon. Just the children and me. I picked them up after orchestra practice and started driving south. Eric had to stay behind to work. I love my hard working man. We came down for a Memorial Service for a dear friend who took us under her wing when we showed up for Dental School. She helped us find housing when I was convinced we would spend the next four years living in the Wal Mart parking lot in our twenty two year old motorhome.  All seven of us at the time. She always was a welcoming smile on the fifth floor when we would visit Eric at school. She brought meals when I had my babies. Was always sending food home with Eric to help us stretch our money a little farther. The children all called her Auntie Joy. And a joy she was to our family. (This is not my friend so many of you have been praying for.  Lord willing, I will get to visit her on this trip!)

I painted bathrooms up until about 30 minutes before we jumped in the car to leave. And I still had not packed. I was sorta dreading it. I love being organized. When I leave on vacation or to go away, my house is clean.  Very clean. Only because I absolutely love to walk into a clean home when we return. Even if it is only for about all of 60 seconds, Then the car sorta explodes into the house and you would never of even known it was beautiful and spotless (ok, I’m stretching it on that one šŸ˜‰ just a few minutes before. But I know. And I knew the whole time I was gone.  So leaving this time meant leaving a house that has been in major construction mode for going on months now. We have packed up most of the whole house and put it out in the shop. We are replacing every window, door, flooring, light fixture, and texture on the walls. Then there is the kitchen remodel. Lots and lots has happened. But thats next post. So I raced through the house. Literally throwing things in suitcases. Now, my children were all neatly packed. They started the day we decided to go. Which was about a week ago. While I was painting or sheet rocking or working as general contractor, they were busy little bees getting their suitcases out (each has their own) and packing up all their clothes. Which is not very much in our construction mode. I just didn’t have time to make the lists and slowly pack everything that we would need. Honesty, I knew there wasn’t much I could forget that I couldn’t just buy down here if I needed it. And forget I did.  All my jeans and shorts. Diapers. Shoes. PJs. Just about everything in the bathroom like deodorant, razor, face wash. The huge tub of snacks for the trip. And lots of other things I have already forgot that I forgot. So first stop as we rolled into town was Costco. Love that store. Then we checked into our hotel. I Pricelined it. It’s my new favorite thing to do when traveling. You can get awesome deals on really nice hotels. This one was no exception. It’s beautiful, spacious, and has a full breakfast with custom made omelets (which I love!). 

I’m hoping to stay about a week or so. Its a much needed break away from our house. I have loved almost every minute remodeling this home, but it is a enormous task which consumes just about every waking moment of my day. And I still have all the normal life stuff that requires my time and attention. I can’t seen to justify writing a post or checking FB, or reading a magazine or making a phone call or packing a suitcase when I’m overwhelmed with all the work that I can do. Our goal is to do as much ourselves as we can to stretch our money as far as we can. This means working hard. Working very, very hard. 

So, remodel pictures to come in the next day or so. I can not wait to sit in our old church tomorrow morning and listen to our Pastor preach to my heart. It’s hungry for what he has to teach. And my oldest 3 are equally excited. Time for some beauty rest now. At least during this lull from coughing children.

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ~Catching up~

  1. JsSteph7 says:

    Just curious how far south you are. I’m in San Diego!

  2. redladybug18 says:

    I hope everyone gets well soon!That sounds like quite the remodeling! can’t wait to see it!

  3. mysweetpeas says:

    @JsSteph7 – We are in the desert, La Quienta. I’m not sure we will make it quite that far this trip. But if we do, I send you a message! It would be fun to get togeather.

  4. JsSteph7 says:

    Yes, do! šŸ™‚ There are so many amazing things to see and do here too. Hope your kiddos are better! I’m sure our weather is not helping.

  5. bloggerpaul says:

    That sounds like a full hotel room! Good thing they don’t charge by the head like they used to! And that there’s stores down there, unlike traveling across the prairie, when if you forgot something, that was that.Enjoy the warm Cali Sun!Paul

Leave a Reply

